Østfold County, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngØstfold County


Guide to Østfold County, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Østfold is a county in Norway, bordering Akershus County in Norway as well as the counties of  Älvsborg, Värmland and Göteborg och Bohus in Sweden. There was a name change in the early 1900 from Smaalenene to Østfold. Østfold is located east of the Oslo fjord and prior to the time of Harald Hårfagre ca. year 900 it was under Swedish rule.  Later, when Norway was under Danish rule it was divided into many small counties.  The old name for Oslofjorden was Fold and the meaning of Øst is East which translate to the name Østfold.  This name has roots back to 1543.


Contents

Cities

As of 2009 Østfold County has six cities:

See Østfold County


Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Østfold County

RømskogRødenesBåstadTrøgstadHærlandTrømborgEidsbergAskimHovinTomterHobølSpydebergSpydebergHeliMossVålerSvinndalSkiptvetOsRyggeRådeTuneVarteigRakkestadDegernesØymarkAremarkEnningdalIddHalden (Fredrikshald)ÅsakRokkeBergSkjebergUllerøy (Ullerø)IngedalRolvsøyGlemmenFredrikstadBorgeTorsnesKråkerøyOnsøyHvalerOstfold Parishes 2x2.jpg
About this image

Censuses

Parish priest's census (scanned)



The bailiff and the magistrate's census (scanned)


Searchable censuses

Church Records

Photos of churches in Østfold

Farm Books

Family History

Norwegian American Bygdelagenes Fellesraad. Østfoldlag

The book is now available as a downloadable PDF file on the internet Østfoldslekt.

Government Offices and Sites

History and Tidbits

Land Records

1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.

Military Records

Passenger Lists

Probate Records

Digitised probate records for Østfold county

Probate Jurisdictions

Ostfold.jpg

Return to Norway Page

Taxation


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 21:17.
  • This page has been accessed 7,161 times.