A Complete List of Bradford's Chapels and District ChurchesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Return to the Yorkshire Parishes page.
"BRADFORD (St. Peter), a borough, market-town, [is the] parish, and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 10 miles (W. by S.) from Leeds, 34 (S. W.) from York, and 196 (N. N. W.) from London; comprising the townships of Allerton, North Bierley, Bowling, Bradford, Clayton, Eccleshill, Heaton, Manningham, Shipley, and Wilsden, and the chapelries of Haworth, Horton, and Thornton [and numerous others]; the whole containing 105,257 inhabitants, of whom 34,560 are in the town.
From: Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 326-331. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50819 Date accessed: 02 September 2011.
Here is a complete list of Bradford chapelries and district churches as of 1881:
- Bradford Christ Church - 1838
- Bradford Holy Trinity - 1864
- Bradford St. James' Church - 1837 (see Horton St James)
- Bradford St. John - 1854
- Bradford St. Michael and All Angels - 1867
- Bradford St. Peter - 1596
The following chapels, district churches and chapelries were also attached to and lying within the parish boundary of Bradford St Peter [Note: If after having unsuccessfully searched St Peter's parish registers then be certain to next search each of these associated chapels--where registers are applicable--as well before continuing searches in adjoining parishes!]:
- Bankfoot - 1849
- Bierley - 1824
- North Bierley St John - 1766; FHL has from 1824, but mostly from 1839, only
- Bowling St John - 1842
- Broomfields St. Luke - 1862
- Buttershaw - 1839
- Calverley - 1845
- Clayton - 1851
- Cullingworth - 1849
- Daisy-Hill St Luke - 1881
- Daisy-Hill Stott Hill - 1857
- Denholme-Gate - 1846
- Eccleshill - 1716
- Girlington St Philip - 1860
- Great Horton - 1809
- Haworth - 1640
- Heaton St Barnabas - 1863
- Hortongreen All Saints - 1813
- Horton St James - 1837
- Horton North St Andrew - 1853
- Laister-Dyke - 1861
- Manningham St Jude - 1865
- Manningham St Mary - 1856
- Manningham St Paul - 1848
- New Leeds Holy Trinity - 1864
- Oxenhope St Mary the Virgin - 1849
- Queensbury - 1847
- Shipley - 1826
- Stanbury - 1832
- Thornton - 1678
- Wibsey -1674
- Wibsey, Low Moor - 1858
- Wilsden - 1826
There are places of worship for--
- Baptists
- Society of Friends
- Independents
- Primitive Methodists
- Wesleyans
- Unitarians
- Roman Catholics
References:
1. Royal, Edward, Bishop Bickersteth's visitation returns for the Archdeaconry of Craven. Heslington, York (2009)
2. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England. London (1848)
3. Wilson, John Marius Wilson. Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales. London (1870)
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 September 2011, at 23:31.
- This page has been accessed 119 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More