Abbots Bickington, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Abbots Bickington, Devonshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Abbots Bickington, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Black Torrington
County Devon
Poor Law Union Holsworthy PLU
Registration District Holsworthy
Records begin
Parish registers: 1717
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holsworthy
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BICKINGTON, ABBOT'S (St. James), a parish, in the union of Holsworthy, hundred of Black Torrington, Holsworthy and N. divisions of Devon, 9 miles (S. W. by W.) from Torrington. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241326.

Church records

Abbots Bickington, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online by the following groups:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
IARC = Internet Archive - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Abbots Bickington, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1615-1631

FS PR's  
IARC 1609-1635 1609-1635 1609-1635
IGI 1615-1836 1600s

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District

  • Holsworthy

Poor Law Union

  • Holsworthy

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Identify court jurisdictions by parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 228-233. Access date 11 June 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Roger Granville and W.E. Mugford, Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644 (Exeter: William Pollard and Co. Ltd., 1908). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 May 2014, at 19:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,683 times.