Abenhall, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Abenhall, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Abenhall, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred St Briavells
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Westbury on Severn PLU
Registration District Westbury on Severn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1597
Bishop's Transcripts: 1621
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Forest
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford Post 1541- Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ABINGHALL (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Westbury, hundred of St. Briavells, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 4 miles (N. by W.) from Newnham. This place,formerly called Abbenhall, derived its name from being the residence of the abbots of Flaxley. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Abenhall, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[2]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
ABENHALL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
DEAN 1596-2011 1596-1988 1596-2001
FHSO 1800-1837
FREG 1762-1871

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288776.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 5-9. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 7 March 2014. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'
  3. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2014, at 23:16.
  • This page has been accessed 1,039 times.