Aberford, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Aberford

Aberford, Yorkshire family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aberford, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Skyrack
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Tadcaster PLU
Registration District Tadcaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ABERFORD (St. Richard), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Skyrack, W. riding of York, 7 miles (S. by E.) from Wetherby, and 186¾ (N. N. W.) from London, on the road to Carlisle; comprising the townships of Aberford, Parlington, and Sturton-Grange, and containing 1071 inhabitants, of whom 782 are in the township of Aberford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Aberford exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
ABERFORD PARISH (1540) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1540-1884

1541-1886

1831, 1852, 1909-1911

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Aberford to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Aberford page.

Parish registers for this ancient parish (AP) begin in 1540. The orginial registers of Aberford, along with the copies known as the Bishop's Transcripts, are deposited at the Borthwick Institute in the city of York.

Here is a list of records available on microfilm at the Family History Library and through family history centers.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Parish register of Aberford, co. York, 1540-1812 BRITISH 899810
Parish register of Aberford, co. York, 1540-1812 BRITISH Fiche 6073569
General register of baptisms, burials and marriages, 1540-1884.  Burials, 1884-1886. Marriages, 1884-1886. BRITISH 1068306
Index to Births and christenings, A thru Z 1540-1812. BRITISH 471961 Item 1
Index to Births and christenings, A thru Z 1813-1875. BRITISH Fiche 6909582
Index to Marriages, A thru Z, 1540-1851. BRITISH Fiche 6909583
Index to Christenings, 1806-1838. BRITISH 883997 Item 5
Index to Marriages, 1540-1813. BRITISH 883844 Item 9


Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, and burials, 1601, 1604, 1631, 1633, 1635, 1637-1641, 1663, 1665-1670, 1672-1673, 1675, 1677-1684, 1686-1690, 1692-1694, 1696-1710, 1712-1714, 1716-1718, 1720-1866, 1870-1873. BRITISH 918331


Non-conformist churches

Non-conformist churches at Aberford included a Roman Catholic church and a Wesleyan Methodist chapel.  Catholic records are on microfilm at the Family History Library as follows:

Births and baptisms, 1806-1838 BRITISH 816627 Item 1
Births and baptisms, 1806-1838 (another filming of the same) BRITISH 1482404 Item 20
Births and christenings, 1806-1838 (A-Z index) BRITISH Fiche 6910218


Neighboring Parishes

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options, and click on List contiguous parishes.

The GENUKI: Church Database is also helpful in determining the names of the churches in the area. By typing the name of the parish, a list will show the names and denominations of other churches in a selected radius.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464268.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 1-5. Date accessed: 18 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 May 2014, at 16:41.
  • This page has been accessed 4,047 times.