Abram St John, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Contents

Chapelry History

Abram St John is a chapelry, lying within Wigan ancient Parish and was built by the year 1838. See also Wigan All Saints Parish.

Resources

Census records

Abram has been completely indexed and transcribed by several online web sites. Here is a list of some of these web sites--those which provide significant details about our ancestry at no cost:

1881 - FamilySearch

1901 - 1901CensusOnline

The following web sites--all of which are pay-for-view or subscription sites can help you to more quickly find Abram ancestors in the census records for all years in which census records were kept (1841-1911):

To view copies of original census records, the Family History Library's British collection has the 1841-1891 census records available on microforms, i.e. microfilm or microfiche. Those available are searchable by ordering each film at FamilySearchCenters, as follows:


1841 Family History Library BRITISH Film 306908
1851 p. 328-360 Family History Library BRITISH Film 87210
1861 Family History Library BRITISH Film 543028
1871 Family History Library BRITISH Film 842039
1881 Family History Library BRITISH Film 1341902
1891 RG 12/3057 (4 fiches) Family History Library BRITISH Fiche 6098167


Church Records

1. The following Accrington chapelries and their registers exist, and some have been both microfilmed (original records) and some transcribed. To view the years for which chapel registers are extant and available at FamilySearch and/or at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston, click the name of the chapelry; to search online transcriptions of christenings, marriages and sometimes burials, click the years in the columns [Note: LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk; Lancs BMD = Lancashire Births, Marriages, and Deaths; FamSrch = FamilySearch]: 

 

              Parish/Chapel FamSrch Lancs. BMD LOPC
Abram St John - a chapelry in Wigan Parish     - 1838-1901


If searches in these registers do not prove successful, be certain to search all the church registers of the chapels of ease (chapelries) and the parish registers of the ancient parish of Whalley St Mary. Whalley St Mary was one of Lancashire's largest parishes, and in order to conduct thorough research within its boundary, requires searching in all of the registers of its chapels of ease as well as the Whalley St Mary's parish registers! To view their availability, visit the Comprehensive List of Whalley Parish Chapels and Churches.

2. Lancashire Online Parish Clerks - has online baptisms and some burials and a few marriages for chapelry no.'s 1, 2, 4, and 6 (above). See their web site (and visit often) for excellent online data for many Lancashire parishes and their chapelries.

Civil Registration

Civil Registration of Births, Marriages Deaths - 1837 to the Present

Read about England Civil Registration (vital records) of birth, marriages and deaths on the England main page.

Online Indexes

There are two separate (free) indexes available for Lancashire civil registration of births, marriages and deaths. One index covers all registrations nation-wide, and one index covers the copies of the local registration district office's certificate copies for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, as follows:

  • FreeBMD - an online (free) index to the certificates held at the General Registrar's Office, formerly in London, now in Solihull, Merseyside, UK. The years currently covered in this index include July, 1837 to at least 1940.
  • LancashireBMD - an online index (free) to the local superintendant's registrar of births, marriages and deaths for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, for the following range of years and their events:  births 1837-1974; marriages 1837-2010; deaths 1837-1975.
  • Lancashire-OPC.org.uk provides numerous parish and chapel transcriptions online (free) for the post-1837 to 1910 period. Marriages after 1837 provide the same information as the civil registration certificates of marriages provide. However, the marriages in these online offerings are marriage transcriptions only.

Indexes

FamilySearch's Family History Library British collections holds the quarterly indexes of births, marriages and deaths from July, 1837 to 1983 in microform media.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:29.
  • This page has been accessed 620 times.