Acklam, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Acklam

Contents

Parish History

ACKLAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Malton, wapentake of Buckrose, E. riding of York; containing the townships of Acklam-with-Barthorpe, and Leavening, 7¼ miles (S.) from Malton. The church, rebuilt in 1790, is a neat structure with a square tower. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans.[1]

East Acklam (St John the Baptist) should not be confused with West Acklam, Yorkshire

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Acklam, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Acklam, Yorkshire PARISH Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1708-1812, 1861-1889


FMP 1837-1930 1837-1930 1878-1988 1878-1988
IGI 1708-1888
1813-1836

NBI

1780-1837

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1716.

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 5-9. Adapted. Accessed November 1, 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 13 October 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 17 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,477 times.