Ackworth, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Ackworth

Guide to Ackworth, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ackworth, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Osgoldcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Hemsworth PLU
Registration District Hemsworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ACKWORTH (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Osgoldcross, W. riding of York, 3¼ miles (S. S. W.) from Pontefract; containing 1828 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Parish registers began in 1558.

ACKWORTH, a parish in Hemsworth district, W. R. Yorkshire; 3½ miles S of Pontefract r. station. It contains Ackworth village and three hamlets. There are chapels for Quakers, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Ackworth exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[3][4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
ACKWORTH PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910 1813-1935 1813-1935 1813-1941 1813-1941
FREG 1813-1844
FS 1558-1868

1589, 1600-1859

1782, 1788, 1796-1797, 1799, 1803-1856

JOIN None
1813-1837

None

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Content
Parish register, 1558-1599. BRITISH 1836438
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1558-1812. BRITISH 560152
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1803-1868. BRITISH 560153


Bishop Transcript Content FHL Content
Baptisms, marriages, and burials, 1600-1605, 1607, 1609-1610, 1612, 1614-1615, 1627, 1629-1630, 1632-1640, 1667-1669, 1671, 1673, 1677-1678, 1681-1684, 1688-1689, 1691-1695, 1697-1698, 1700, 1702-1746, 1748-1780, 1782-1838, 1843-1844, 1875-1887, 1889-1890. BRITISH 990852 Item 1
Non conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist Church

Ackworth is part of the Pontefract Methodist Circuit.

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1858-1925
BRITISH Film 1657057 Item 32
Neighboring Parishes

The GENUKI: Church Database is helpful in determining the names of the churches in the area. By typing the name of the parish, a list will show the names and denominations of the other churches in a selected radius.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464267.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 9-12. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 September 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. 1870. Date accessed: 20 September 2013.
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  4. 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  5. 'West Yorkshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1935,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  6. 'West Yorkshire, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  7. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 27 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 4,052 times.