Acomb, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Acomb

Guide to Acomb, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Acomb, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred York (Ansty)
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union York PLU
Registration District York
Records begin
Parish registers: 1634; Separate registers exist for Dringhouses beginning 1824
Bishop's Transcripts: 1634; Separate records exist for Dringhouses beginning 1849
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Acomb
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ACOMB (St. Stephen), a parish, in the Ainsty wapentake, W. riding of York; containing 880 inhabitants, of whom 774 are in the township of Acomb, 2¼ miles (W.) from York, on the road to Leeds via Wetherby. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists. [1]

ACOMB, a township and a parish in York district, W. R. Yorkshire. The parish includes also most of the township of Knapton and part of the township of Drinkhouses. There is a Wesleyan chapel. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from York Registration District held at York are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorized Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorized Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org - free
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
  ACOMB PARISH (1634) Indexes

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1847-1856, 1875-1886
1838-1885

FS 1634-1886
1634-1885
None
NBI

1780-1837
List of Chapelry's in the Parish


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Link to the Family History Library  film numbers in their collection Acomb

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464295.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 9-12. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870-72). Date accessed: 11th January 2014.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 16 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:50.
  • This page has been accessed 2,902 times.