Aconbury, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Aconbury, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aconbury, Herefordshire
Aconbury, St John the Baptist, Herefordshire.JPG
Aconbury, St John the Baptist, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wormelow
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1813
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Archenfield
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Aconbury is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire. Also see List of Monastic Houses in Herefordshire.

The redundant church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade II* listed building, and has been used as a store.

See also Pevsner, Nikolaus (1963). The Buildings of England - Herefordshire. New Haven and London: Yale University Press. pp. 62. ISBN 978-0-300-09609-5.

ACCONBURY, or Acornbury (St. John The BapTist), a parish, in the Upper division of the hundred of Wormelow, union and county of Hereford, 4 miles (S.) from Hereford. This parish comprises 1590 acres by computation. A nunnery was founded here, the remains have been converted into a farmhouse, but some stone coffins are still preserved. The vaults of the church contain the ashes of many illustrious persons. On the summit of Acconbury hill, celebrated for its fine plantations and its drives, are traces of a large Roman encampment, the rampart of which, on the east side, is plainly discernible. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Aconbury

Census records

Census returns for Aconbury 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition, FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.  

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901


Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Aconbury

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 5-9. Date accessed: 19 Feb 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 14:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,932 times.