Acrise, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Acrise, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Acrise, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loningborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham PLU
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1541
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Elham
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ACRISE (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Elham, partly in the hundred of Folkestone, but chiefly in that of Loningborough, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 5 miles (N. N. W.) from Folkestone, near the road to Canterbury. [1]

Acrise is a village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent Acrise Wikipedia

Acrise St Martin is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; the parish of Acrise St Martin and Swingfield, Kent St Peter is within the Hawkinge with Acrise and Swingfield benefice see A Church near You

The parish church of St Martin Acrise has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 111-117 at British History Online and Kent Churches website


Resources

Civil Registration 

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Acrise, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
Acrise, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1542-1913 1542-1913 1561-1918; 1756-1811 (Banns) 1561-1918; 1756-1811 (Banns) 1578-1988 1578-1988
FREG 1628-1812
1628-1930
1628-1812

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Parish registers are deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives reference U3/113/1-5, U3/113/1/E1

Land Tax

Images for Acrise, Elham, Stelling and Upper Hardres are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Elham is a sub-district and a parish. The sub-district includes the parishes of Stelling and Acrise. There is no information regarding Upper Hardres. Elham is included in items 5-7, while Stelling and Upper Hardes are in item 6, and Acrise is in item 7.

Kent Archives Office reference: Q/RPL/120-122

Census records

Census returns for Acrise 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Elham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 9-12. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 14:15.
  • This page has been accessed 4,050 times.