Acton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Cheshire Gotoarrow.png  Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Acton

Guide to Acton, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Acton, Cheshire
St Marys Church Acton Cheshire.jpg
St Marys Church Acton
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich PLU
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1586
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ACTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Nantwich, S. division of Cheshire; comprising the townships of Acton, Aston-juxta-Mondrum, Austerson, Baddington, Brindley, Burland, Cholmondstone, Cool-Pilate, Edleston, Faddiley, Henhull, Hurleston, Poole, Stoke, Worleston, and part of Soond, 1¼ mile northwest by west from Nantwich. At Burley-Dam is a second church.[1]

Acton St Mary near Nantwich is an Ancient parish which commenced keeping parish registers from the year 1653. The parish includes Worleston, Stoke, Sound, Poole, Newhall, Hurleston, Henhull, Faddiley, Edleston, Edlaston, Coole Pilate, Cool Pilate, Cholmondestone, Baddington, Brindley, Burland, Cholmondeston, Aston juxta Mondrum, Austerson, and Aston.

Resources

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241237.

Church Records

Acton St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Acton St Mary Parish (1585) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1653-1912
  NONE
1653-1937
  NONE
1653-1982
  NONE
FS BT's
1585-1886
  NONE
1585-1876
  NONE
1663-1886
  NONE

Cheshire The following records are deposited at the Record Office:

  • Parish registers for Acton-near-Nantwich, 1653-1999.
  • Bishop's transcripts for Acton, 1586-1886. CRO reference: EDB 1.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, parish registers and bishop’s transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online in Record Search at FamilySearch.org.

Here is a list of church records for Acton on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers: Film
Baptisms: 1653-Nov. 1859; Marriages: 1653-1754; Burials: 1653-1750. 2147020
Baptisms, Dec. 1859-Feb. 1999. Marriages, Apr. 1754-June 1857. 2147021
Marriages, May 1857-May 1975. 2147066
Marriages, June 1975-1999. Marriage banns, 1789-1994. Burials, 1751-1812 (includes contributions to Acton Free School records, 1662, 1716, 1766, 1789, 1862-1864; charities and charity accounts, 1861, will of George Huxley, churchwardens' account, 1857). 2147067
Burials, 1813-1982. Graves registers, 1823-1862, 1886-1965. 2147068 Items 1 - 8


Bishop's Transcripts: Film
Marriages, burials 1586-1814.  Baptisms 1586-1815 (with gaps). 1647762 Item 3
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1815-1827, 1829-1844. 1647763
Marriages, 1844-1874. Baptisms, burials, 1845-1874. 1647802
Marriages 1875-1876. Baptisms, burials, 1875-1886. 1647803 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Acton (Weaverham) Methodist Chapel. The chapel was built by the Wesleyan Methodists in Forest Road in 1878 next to an earlier chapel erected in c.1834. The first chapel was used by the Sunday School until new premises were built adjoining the new chapel in 1903.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Here is a list of registration districts that included Acton from 1837, with dates of inclusion.

  •  Nantwich (1837–1937)
  •  Crewe (1937–74)
  •  Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  •  South Cheshire (1988–98)
  •  Cheshire Central (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

School Records

School Registers for Acton (near Nantwich), 1877-1952 Film
Girls' Admission Register, 1877-1893. Boys' Admission Register, 1878-1903 1894886 Items 4-5
Mixed School Log Books, 1903-1952 (includes children evacuated from St. Silvester R.C. School, Liverpool in 1939). 2299012 Items 1-2

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 9-12. Date accessed: 11 June 2013.

Bibliography

  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 15–18
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003), The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 53–54, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 16–17, ISBN 1871731232

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 July 2014, at 19:11.
  • This page has been accessed 8,331 times.