Acton, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Acton, Suffolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Acton, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Babergh
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Sudbury PLU
Registration District Sudbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sudbury
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Acton, is a parish in Sudbury district, Suffolk; it is near the river Stour, 2½ miles N E of Sudbury railway station. [1]
ACTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Sudbury, hundred of Babergh, W. division of Suffolk, 3 miles (N. E. by N.) from Sudbury.[2]

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to Acton and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Acton is an Ancient Parish in this county. This parish is located in the hundred of Babergh.Genuki.org.uk provides additional details.

Acton, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
Acton, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1564-1754

FREG 1745-1853
1745-1838
1745-1861
NBI

1750-1901

Suffolk Churches add more information and photos of All Saints Church. Parish Registers are available in microfilm from the Family History Library and can be ordered and viewed at a local Family History Center. The original registers are located at the Suffolk Record Office in Bury, St. Edmunds.

Census records

There are census records available for Acton from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Acton Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed and adapted: 16 September 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 9-12. Date accessed and adapted: 19 December 2013.
  3. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 17:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,774 times.