Acton Burnell, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Shropshire Gotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Acton Burnell, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Acton Burnell, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Condover
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Atcham PLU
Registration District Atcham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Condover
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ACTON-BURNELL (St. Mary), a parish, in the unions of Atcham and Church-Stretton, hundred of Condover, S. division of Salop, 7 miles (S.) from Shrewsbury; contains both Ruckley and Langley towns. There is a chapel of ease (chapelry) in Langley. There is also a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Acton Burnell Catholic parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
ACTON BURNELL CATHOLIC Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1800-1812

MLOC 1769-1838
1769-1838
1769-1838
PALL
1790-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1630-1856 Marr 1630-1840 Bur 1630-1856


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474584.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/ActonBurnell/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 9-12. Adapted. Date accessed: 30 April 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 15:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,200 times.