Acton Green St Peter, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Acton Green St Peter, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Acton Green St Peter, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Kensington Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Brentford PLU
Registration District Brentford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1915
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

The location is that named as "Acton Green" on the modern 1:25,000 map. Additional information about this locality is available for Acton.[1]

Acton Green St Peter was created a district church in 1915 and lay within the civil jurisdiction of Acton St Mary.

Acton Green St Peter is an ecclesiastical parish that was created in 1915. It is in the ancient county of Middlesex.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Acton on GENUKI

References

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Date accessed: 24 October 2013.
  2. Youngs, F., Local Administrative Units: Southern England (London: Royal Historical Society, 1979) Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 December 2014, at 17:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,213 times.