Acton Vale, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Acton Vale, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Acton Vale, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Kensington Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Brentford PLU
Registration District Brentford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1884
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

A Vision of Britain through Time includes: a large library of local statistics for administrative units. For the best overall sense of how the area containing Acton Vale has changed, please see our redistricted information for the modern district of Ealing. More detailed statistical data are available under Units and statistics, which includes both administrative units covering Acton Vale and units named after it.[1]

Acton Vale St Barnabas was created in 1884 and was later replaced by St Thomas in the year 1915 and lay within the civil parish of Acton St Mary.

ACTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Brentford, Kensington division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 5 miles (W.) from London; containing, with the hamlets of East Acton and Steyne.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438780.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Acton on GENUKI

References

  1. GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Acton Vale, in Ealing and Middlesex | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time. Date accessed: 24 Occt 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 December 2014, at 15:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,983 times.