Adair County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Kentucky Gotoarrow.png Adair County

Guide to Adair County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Adair County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Adair County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 11, 1801
County Seat Columbia
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Adair Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

Adair County, Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Adair County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth*
Marriage
Death*
Census
Deeds
Wills
1852
1802
1852
1810
1801
1804
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Adair County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG
Adair County Courthouse
424 Public Square
Columbia, KY 42728-1451
Phone: 270.384.2801[1]

Adair County Kentucky History

Parent County

1801--Adair County was created 11 December 1801 from the southern part of Green County.
County seat: Columbia [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

Adair County Kentucky Places / Localities

Populated Places

Absher Cundiff Holmes Pellytown
Barnett Springs Dunbar Hill Inroad Pickett
Bliss Ella Joppa Portland
Breeding Eunice Kellyville Purdy
Cane Valley Fairplay Keltner Sano
Casey Creek Feathersburg Kemp Sparksville
Chance Flatwood Knifley Speck
Christine Gadberry Milltown Toria
Coburg Garlin Montpelier Weed
Columbia Gentrys Mill Neatsville
Craycraft Glens Fork Nell
Crocus Gradyville Ozark

Neighboring Counties

Adair County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kyadair.png

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Kentucky African Americans

Bible

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18106,011
18208,76545.8%
18308,217−6.3%
18408,4663.0%
18509,89816.9%
18609,509−3.9%
187011,06516.4%
188013,07818.2%
189013,7214.9%
190014,8888.5%
191016,50310.8%
192017,2894.8%
193016,401−5.1%
194018,56613.2%
195017,603−5.2%
196014,699−16.5%
197013,037−11.3%
198015,23316.8%
199015,3600.8%
200017,24412.3%
Est. 200617,6502.4%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21001.txt
Adair Co., KYGenWeb Available Census Records ~


1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Adair County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography
  • [Asbury] Holtzclaw, B.C. "Asbury of Westmoreland County, Virginia," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul. 1967):55-65; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1967):77-87; Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan. 1968):10-26. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Chapman] "A Brief History of the Chapman Family of Frederick County," Frederick Findings, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Winter 1988):42-43. FHL Book 975.59 D25f.
  • [Moss] Moss, T.C. The David Moss Family: Green, Adair, Boyle, Barren, Hart, and Warren Co., Ky.; Williamson and Maury Co., Tenn.; Mississippi. Memphis, Tenn.: T.C. Moss, 1968. FHL Book 929.273 M855mo.
  • [Royse] Pappas, Carolyn H. "Christopher Beeler, 1705-1775," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 43, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1999):243-255; Vol. 44, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2000):18-30; Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2000):115-125. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • [Smith] Coleman, C.W. "Genealogy of the Smith Family of Essex County, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jul. 1897):41-52. Digital versions at JSTOR - free; USGenWeb - free.
  • [Trabue] Harper, Lillie DuPuy VanCulin. Colonial Men and Times: Containing the Journal of Col. Daniel Trabue, Some Account of His Ancestry, Life and Travels in Virginia and the Present State of Kentucky During the Revolutionary Period; the Huguenots, Genealogy, with Brief Sketches of the Allied Families. Philadelphia, Pa.: Innes & Sons, 1916. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Film 1421709 Item 2.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Adair County Entries on the Kentucky Table of Content at Strictly By Name. To view the indexes it is free. If you want a copy of a document there is a fee.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Adair County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Adair County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Adair County, Kentucky:

 

- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies F and G.
- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A and J.
- 3rd Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company D.
- 9th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and K.
- 13th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, K, L and M.

Miscellaneous

Adair Co., KYGenWeb Obituaries


Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

Adair Co., KYGenWeb "News from around Adair"

here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Adair County click here. This is not a complete list. Several major Kentucky papers are not included in this database but may be found in the Library catalog Infokat: http://infokat.uky.edu Some of these major newspapers are: Lexington Herald, Lexington Leader, Lexington Herald-Leader, Louisville Courier Journal.

  • The Adair Progress
    98 Grant Lane - Columbia, Kentucky 42728
    Ph (270) 384-6471 Fax (270) 384-6474
  • USGenWeb Archives has some newspaper articles for the years 1897, 1898, & 1901 online.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adair County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records are held by the Adair County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Adair County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

"Adair County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1804 and Court Records from 1802..

Adair County, Last Will and Testament

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Adair County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Adair County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Births, Deaths & Marriages

The International Genealogical Index includes the following:

Birth

  • 1852-1861 - Adair County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch C517011 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1874 - Adair County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517012 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Adair County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517013 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Marriage

  • 1852-1861 - Adair County Marriage Index 1852-1861. Batch M517011 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Adair County Marriage Index 1875. Batch C517013 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1876-1878 - Adair County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517015 at FamilySearch - free.[3]


USGenWeb Archives has the following files online:

Adair County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Adair County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Adair County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adair County, Kentucky page 268, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.




 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:46.
  • This page has been accessed 34,765 times.