Adamawa State, NigeriaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Africa Gotoarrow.png Nigeria Gotoarrow.png Adamawa State

Guide to Adamawa State, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Contents

Information

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Adamawa State
Adamawa is a state in northeastern Nigeria, with its capital at Yola. It was formed in 1991 from part of Gongola State with four administrative divisions namely: Adamawa, Ganye, Mubi and Numan. It is one of the thirty-six (36) States which constitute the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Local Government Areas

Other main towns

History

Before it became a state in Nigeria Adamawa was a subordinate kingdom of the Sultanate of Sokoto which also included much of northern Cameroon. The rulers bear the title of Emir (Lamido in the local language, Fulfulde). The name "Adamawa" came from the founder of the kingdom, Modibbo Adama, a regional leader of the Fulani Jihad organized by Usumaanu dan Fodio of Sokoto in 1804. Modibbo Adama came from the region of Gurin (now just a small village) and in 1806 received a green flag for leading the jihad in his native country. In the following years Adama conquered many lands and tribes. In 1838 he moved his capital to Ribadu, and in 1839 to Joboliwo. In 1841 he founded Yola where he died in 1848. After the European colonization (first by Germany and then by Britain) the rulers remained as Emirs, and the line of succession has continued to the present day.

Genealogy

Cemeteries

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 December 2014, at 20:57.
  • This page has been accessed 928 times.