Adams County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

This article is about a northeast Colorado county. For other uses, see Adams.

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngAdams County

Guide to Adams County, Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Adams County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Adams County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 15, 1901
County Seat Brighton
Courthouse
Address Adams County Courthouse
450 S 4th Avenue
Brighton, CO 80901-3196
Phone 303.654.6020
Adams County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1902,
some burial records, some land records from Arapahoe
County prior to 1901, school census 1902-1964 and military
discharge records, 17th Judicial District Court Clerk has divorce records;
Probate Court has probate records; Hall of Justice has court records [1]

County Clerk / Recorder
4430 S. Adams County Pkwy.
Brighton, CO 80601
Ph: 720.523.6020
Fx: 720.523.6009

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1902-1906 [2]*
1902 [2]*
1902-1908 [2]*
1902 [2]
1902 [2]
1902 [2]
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Brighton [3]

Parent County

Coadams.jpg
15 April 1901: Adams County was created from Arapahoe County.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Boundary Changes

Annexed part of Denver County in 1909.[2]

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

For early vital records check Colorado State Archives, Historical Records Index

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [4]

To obtain a recent birth certificate for yourself or a near relative, contact the Tri-County Health Department by calling 303-220-9200 or visiting:
6162 S. Willow Drive  #100
Greenwood Village, CO 80111

Marriage

The Adams County Recorder's office will search their indexes if you call or come in to the office. If a record is found, a copy can be purchased in person or by mail. Call 720-523-6020.

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [4]

To obtain a recent death certificate for yourself or a near relative, contact the Tri-County Health Department by calling 303-220-9200 or visiting:
6162 S. Willow Drive #100
Greenwood Village, CO 80111

Divorce

The Colorado State Archives has put a name only Index to the Adams County Divorce Records for the period 1904-1913 on-line.

For information regarding other divorce documents, please contact the Adams County Court System at 303-659-1161.

Resources

Cemeteries

Belleview Cemetery, Westminster  BillionGraves
Bennett Cemetery
Black Cemetery
Eastlawn Memorial Gardens
Elmwood Cemetery
Fairview Cemetery
Highland Memorial Gardens
Mount Nebo Cemetery
Riverside Cemetery, Commerce City  BillionGraves
Rose Hill Cemetery
Wesley Chapel Cemetery
Woolsey Cemetery

Census

For tips on accessing Adams County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Adams County Old Age Pension Records 1933 - 1936. An Index compiled from the offical record of the applications granted by the Adams County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:

  • Name of Applicant
  • Date and Amount of pension payment
  • Any adjustments to the pension
  • Person's age
  • Town nearest to where they lived
  • Other Actions done by the County

Directories

Local History

Local histories are available for Adams County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


Maps

Ancestry maps - Top cities by ethnic group

Historic maps of CO cities - Library of Congress
Historic maps of Colorado

Adams County Maps  Adams County, Colorado

Military

American Battle Monuments Commission - Overseas cemeteries
Civil War Soldiers & Sailors database
Military records - National Archives
Nationwide grave locator - U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs
Search military records (historic)

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Aurora Sentinel

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


Public Records

School Records

Colorado State Archives has put an index of the Adams County teachers who were approved to teach in the county by the County Superintendent of Schools for the years 1913-1935 on-line. This list shows their name and may include the date, type of teaching certificate they possess and the town of residence.

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.


Colorado State Archives has put the Adams County Inheritance Tax Record Index for the years 1929-1943 on-line. Read more.

Repositories

Archives and Libraries

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Adams County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Adams County Divorces 1904 - 1913
Adams County Inheritance Tax 1929 - 1943
Adams County Old Age Pension 1933 - 1936
Adams County Teachers 1913 - 1935
Adams County Wills 1903 - 1938

Family History Centers

Museums

Societies

  • Brighton Genealogy Society
    343 S. 21st Street
    Brighton, CO 80601-2525
  • Adams County Historical Society
    9601 Henderson Rd.
    Brighton, CO 80601
    Telephone 303-659-7103

Places

Populated Places

Aurora (city)
Bennett (town)
Brighton (city)
Commerce City (city)
Dupont
Eastlake
Federal Heights (city)
Henderson
Irondale
Northglenn (city)
Strasburg
Thornton (city)
Watkins
Welby
Westminster (city)

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adams County, Colorado. Page 97At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 12,191 times.