Adams County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
This article is about a western Illinois county. For other uses, see Adams.
United States
Illinois
Adams County
Guide to Adams County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Adams County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Illinois | |
![]() Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 13, 1825 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Quincy |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives | |
| Address | Adams County Courthouse 507 Vermont Street Quincy, Illinois 62301 |
Adams County Organization
Adams County's civil records start the following years:
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1878 | 1825 | 1878 | 1830 | 1817 | 1826 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Adams County are kept, see the Adams County Courthouse page.
Historical Records
Adams County is named for John Quincy Adams, the sixth President of the United States.
Boundary Changes
- 13 January 1825 -- Adams County was created 13 January 1825 from Pike County. [1]
03 August 1829: Hancock County fully organized, detached from Adams. (Scofield, 679)
03 March 1837: Adams boundaries were extended to the middle of the Mississippi River [not mapped]. (Ill. Laws 1836-1837, pp. 91-92)
11 February 1843: Adams lost to creation of Marquette (later Highland, extinct). (Ill. Laws 1842-1843, pp. 77-83)
27 Febrary 1847: Adams lost to Highland (extinct). (Ill. Laws 1846-1847, gen., pp. 38-41)
by 31 December 1848: Adams gained all of Highland (extinct) when Highland failed to become fully organized as a county; Highland eliminated. (Wilcox, David F., 1:119-120) (source: Newberry Library)
- Interactive map of Adams County boundary changes.
Record Loss
9 December 1835: - Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
9 January 1875: - Courthouse burned again, and many records damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see Burned Counties Research.
Records and Resources
Biography
- The History of Adams County, Illinois: containing a history of the county, its cities, towns, etc.; a biographical directory of its citizens, war record of its volunteers in the late Rebellion ... portraits of early settlers and prominent men; history of the Northwest, history of Illinois ... etc., etc. Reprint 1977 (original 1879) FHL Book 977.344 H2ha 1977, fiche 6048848
- The History of Adams County, Illinois: containing a history of the county, its cities, towns, etc.; a biographical directory of its citizens, war record of its volunteers in the late rebellion; general and local statistics, portraits of early settlers and prominent men...miscellaneous matters, etc., etc., pub. 1879 FHL Film 924761, another filming 934969 Item 1; Adams Co IL USGenWeb
- The History of Adams County, Illinois: containing a history of the county, its cities, towns, etc.; a biographical directory of its citizens, war record of its volunteers in the late rebellion; general and local statistics, portraits of early settlers and prominent men...miscellaneous matters, etc., etc., apparent reprint with index FHL film 1421655 Item 7
- Memorials to those involved in the legal profession, filed by the clerk, with birth and death dates, ca. 1807-1961, FHL Film 1845491 Item 2
- Past and present of the city of Quincy and Adams County, Illinois: including the late Colonel John Tillson's History of Quincy, together with biographical sketches of many of its leading and prominent citizens and illustrious dead; pub. 1905 FHL Film 934969 Item 4; Adams Co IL USGenWeb
- Portrait and biographical record of Adams County, Illinois: containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens; pub. 1892. Adams County IL USGenWeb; Google Books; Internet Archive; Ancestry ($); FHL film 934969 Item 3
- Quincy and Adams County History, Vol. 1. pub. 1919 Adams County IL USGenWeb
- Quincy and Adams County History, Vol. II, pub. 1919 Adams County IL USGenWeb
- Adams County IL USGenWeb Message Board
Indexes
- Naturalization index and bar association index, Adams County, Illinois; pub. 1993. WorldCat, FHL Film 1697968 Item 3, Book 977.344 P2n
Cemeteries
Published Records
- Adams County, Illinois, Cemetery Records of Southside Cemetery and South Mound Cemetery in Clayton, Illinois, 1800's-1974. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1974. FHL film 960878 Item 1
- Bluffs United Methodist Church (Adams County, Illinois). Shiloh Tombstone Inscriptions, 1840-1985. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1986. FHL film 1439635
- Great River Genealogical Society. Cemeteries of Adams County, Illinois. Quincy, Illinois: Great River Genealogical Society, 1987-1990. FHL fiche 6126466–6126468; book 977.344 V3c v. 1-6
- Great River Genealogical Society. St. Peters Cemetery, Quincy, Illinois and Adams County Catholic cemeteries. Quincy, Illinois: Great River Genealogical Society, 1985. FHL book 977.344 V3st
- Hooper, Mildred. Adams County, Illinois Tombstone Inscriptions, ca. 1776-1967. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989. FHL film 1642711 (first of 9)
- Hooper, Mildred. [Adams County, Illinois Cemeteries, ca. 1789-1967]. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989. FHL films 1637641–1637646
- Hunsaker, Maurice Q. A Report on Hunsaker Burial Grounds in Illinois. Salt Lake City, Utah: Hunsaker Family Organization, 1959. FHL film 1321489 Item 26; book 929.273 A1 no. 2569
- Illinois. Department of Veterans Affairs. Veterans National Cemetery Records, Illinois. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1981. FHL film 1308572. Includes Graceland National Cemetery in Adams County.
- Illinois. Recorder (Adams County). Cemetery Deeds, 1890 (1), 1904-1932. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1991. FHL film 1787254 Item 8
- Kay, Jeannie McCarl and Lillian Harris Frye. Adams County, Illinois, Cemeteries. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1974. FHL film 1001123
- Simmermacher, Francis and Margurite Halsey Shippey. Names in Stone, Woodville Cemetery, Keene Township, Adams County, Illinois. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1974. FHL film 965272 Item 3
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Quincy Branch. Cemetery Records of Adams County, Illinois. [Quincy, Illinois?: s.n.], 1963-1964. FHL films 824275 Items 1-2 and 823927 Items 4-10; book 977.344 V22q v. 1-3
Online Gravestone Transcriptions
- Adams County ILGenWeb. See the Cemetery Records page for cemetery transcriptions. For tombstone photographs, see the Tombstone Photography Project webpage.
- Find A Grave.com has burial information for nearly 200 Adams County cemeteries. For a complete list of cemeteries, click Here.
- GenealogyTrails.com. Find or add headstone transcriptions for Adams County Cemeteries.
- Illinois Ancestors Tombstone Project. Find or submit Adams County tombstone photos.
- Illinois Tombstone Transcription Project. Get accesss to online cemetery transcriptions for several Adams County Cemeteries.
- Interment.net has some Adams County Cemetery Records available online.
- Linkpendium. Has links to several Adams County Cemetery related websites.
Cemetery Gazetters
- Epodunk has a list of Adams County Cemeteries. The website provides name of cemetery, address and telephone number when available, Google Map with cemetery marker, and other helpful Internet links.
- The Illinois State Genealogical Society's "Cemetery Location Project" has identified many Adams County Cemeteries.
Census
For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see Illinois Census.
Federal
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1900 | 67,058 | ||
| 1910 | 64,588 | −3.7% | |
| 1920 | 62,188 | −3.7% | |
| 1930 | 62,784 | 1.0% | |
| 1940 | 65,229 | 3.9% | |
| 1950 | 64,690 | −0.8% | |
| 1960 | 68,467 | 5.8% | |
| 1970 | 70,861 | 3.5% | |
| 1980 | 71,622 | 1.1% | |
| 1990 | 66,090 | −7.7% | |
| 2000 | 68,277 | 3.3% | |
| IL Counties 1900-1990 | |||
1830 Census, Quincy only: Adams County ILGenWeb Project
1840 Census, Rural Adams County (No names from Quincy): Adams County ILGenWeb Project
1850 Census, Adams County, Illinois other libraries; FHL Fiche 6103953-6103955 9 cards
1860 Census, Adams County, Illinois other libraries; FHL 6093946-6093948 12 cards
1870 Census of Adams County, Illinois Quincy Public Library
The 1890 census burned. The Directories section includes a reference to an 1892 directory that can be used to learn who lived in the county at approximately the same time.
State
- 1855, State Census FamilySearch Index only
- 1855, Name index to early Illinois records FHL 248 film rolls
- 1855, State Census FHL film 976178 Item 11
- 1865, State Census FHL film 972746
1840 Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Adams County on page 186.]
Church Records
Church records may give birth, death and marriage information as well as indictate family relationships. See Illinois state wiki article Church Records for more ideas about how to use church records in your research. Many libraries( WorldCat) and the Family History Library hold abstracts of church records for Adams County. Learn more about how to search WorldCat and the Family History Library Catalog.
- Churches in Adams County. Courtesy of USGenWeb.
- Inventory of the McDonough County Genealogical Society's church records, ca. 1830-1991 FHL 2 films
Baptist
- Duncan, Robert S. The History of the Baptists in Missouri. Scammel and Co., St. Louis: 1882. Online free digital copy.Google Books.
Catholic
- 1863–1906 St. Joseph's Church Death Register, Columbus Road. Courtesy of Genealogy Trails.
- 1867 St. Mary's Church. Courtesy of USGenWeb.
- 1867–1905 St. Joseph's Church Death Register, Bloomfield. Courtesy of Genealogy Trails.
- 1880–1906 St. John's Church Death Register. Courtesy of Genealogy Trails.
- 1898–1950 St. Peter's Church MinutesFHL film 1434887 Item 8
- St. Francis Church and School Quincy. Courtesy of USGenWeb.
Church of Christ
- 1835 Pleasant View Christian Church. The History of Adams County, Illinois. Murray, Williamson and Phelps, Chicago: 1879. Online digital copy, Internet Archive. Page 969.
- 1835 Ursa Christian Church.. The History of Adams County, Illinois. Murray, Williamson and Phelps, Chicago: 1879. Online digital copy, Internet Archive. Page 969.
- 1860–1985 Bluff Fall Church (Formerly German Evengelical Zion (Lutheran) Church of Fall Creek. Courtesy of USGenWeb.
- 1861–1896 Fowler Christian Church. Courtesy Kevin Fowler's Illinois History Page.
Evangelical
- 1848–1923 Old Salem History and Cemetery. Courtesy of USGenWeb.
Evangelical Lutheran
- 1851 St. James (St. Jacobi). Early births, deaths and membership record. Courtesy of USGenWeb.
Jewish
- 1866–1916 Jewish Congregations.Courtesy of USGenWeb.
Lutheran
- 1848–1952 Immanuel Lutheran Church, South Prarie. Courtesy of USGenWeb. Renamed Holy Cross.
- 1875–1974 Trinity Lutheran Church. List of members. Courtesy of USGenWeb.
Methodist Episcopal
- Methodist Episcopal Church. Illinois Conference. Columbia Circuit Membership roll FHL film 965275 Item 1
- 1835–1919 Pleasant View Christian Church records FHL film 461378 Items 5–6
- 1854–1898 Methodist Episcopal Church–La Prarie Circuit FHL 965273 Items 2-6
- 1856–1907 Methodist Episcopal Church records - Payson Circuit FHL film 965274 Items 2–4
- 1859 Ebenezer Chapel and Cemetery. History, Cemetery Records Courtesy of UsGenWeb.
- 1861–1892 Methodist Episcopal Church records - Paloma Circuit FHL film 965272 Items 4–5
- 1876–1906 Methodist Episcopal Church–Lorraine Circuit FHL film 960877 Item 9
- 1888–1928 Bluffs Methodist Church records FHL film 1434889 Item 1
- 1892–1914 Methodist Episcopal Church records - Golden Circuit FHL film 965273 Item 9
- 1892–1903 Melrose Episcopal Chapel Church records FHL film 965272 Item 6
- 1895–1967 Richfield Christian Church records FHL film 965275 Item 4
Presbyterian
- 1835 United Presbyterian Church (New Hope). The History of Adams County, Illinois. Murray, Williamson and Phelps, Chicago: 1879. Online digital copy, Internet Archive. Page 967.
Correctional Institutions
Court Records
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Adams County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
Copies of original records
- Chancery index FHL film 934668(first of 5 films)
- before 1850 Proof and final order index FHL film 1854046 Item 14
- 1820–1931 Chancery and other court records and index FHL first film 934668 (first of 132 films)
- 1825–1846 Circuit court related records FHL first film 1845382 Items 2–6 (first of 2 films)
- 1825–1849 County record and record of county commissioner's courtFHL first film 1870283 Item 1 (first of 2 films)
- 1826–1850 People's case files FHL first film 1697967 Item 7 (first of 9 films)
- 1826–1953 Circuit Court Case Files Index, ChanceryIRAD–WIU
- 1826–1844 Circuit court records (contains judgements and naturalizations) FHL 961246
- 1826–1852 Execution dockets FHL first film 1853894 Item 2 (first of 3 films)
- 1827–1854 Chancery case files (includes guardianship and probate) FHL first film 1697967 Item 7 (first of 16 films)
- 1827–1850 Minutes FHL film 1854046 Items 1–13
- 1827–1854 Judgement dockets FHL first film 1854043 Items 3-5(first of 2 films)
- 1827–1850 Fee bills and index FHL first film 1697967 Item 7 (first of 3 films)
- 1829–1845 Circuit Court RecordIRAD–WIU
- 1830–1919 County Court and Probate IndexIRAD–WIU
- 1833–1855 Fee books FHL first film 1862848 Item 3 (first of 2 films)
- 1837–1935 Chancery records - includes guardianship, divorce, and probate related records FHL first film 1839864 Item 4 (first of 27 films)
- 1837–1850 Certificates of land purchase FHL film 1697967 Item 7 (first of 2 films)
- 1837–1850 Justice of the Peace records and index FHL first film 1697967 Item 7 (first of 2 films)
- 1837–1844 Miscellaneous case files and index FHL first film 1697967 Item 7 (first of 13 films)
- 1839 Judges docket FHL film 1853890 Item 6
- 1839–1853 Dockets FHL film 1854045 Items 2-7
- 1840–1852 Chancery docket FHL film 1853893 Item 4
- 1841–1899 Chancery complete records FHL first films 1845380 (first of 2 films)
- 1842–1848 Court ledger books FHL first film 1853893 Item 3 (first of 2 films)
- 1845–1850 Jury lists FHL film 1697967 Item 7 (first of 2 films)
- 1846–1849 Law and criminal record FHL first film 1845381 Item 3 (first of 2 films)
- 1846–1937 Certificates of Moral CharacterIRAD–WIU
- 1851–1853 Circuit Court Case Files, DivorcesIRAD–WIU
- 1853–1953 Circuit Court Record Index, ChanceryIRAD–WIU
- 1855–1974 Circuit Court Judgment Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1855–1974 Judgement docket FHL film 961235–41
- 1858–1931 Index to court record Chancery FHL film 961247–8
- 1883–1933 Insanity proceedings FHL film 1862845 Items 3-4
- 1884–1937 Guardianship records index FHL book 977.344 P22n
- 1945–1963 Jury Files IRAD–WIU
- Judici.com, go back only to 1987.
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Adams County court records may be found in the FHLC and FHLC–indexes. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Directories
- Adams County, IL, 1892. Quincy, IL, USA: Stone & Co., 1892. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Ethnic Research
African American
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African-American Resources for Illinois
Germans
Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Biographies
Church Records
Cemetery Records
Court Records
Histories
Immigration/emigration/migration
Maps
Newspapers
Societies
Funeral Homes
Genealogy
Mailing Lists
Rootsweb mailing lists:
- iladams
- il-cemeteries
- il-civil-war
- il-western
- illinois-tttp
- ilroots
- ilobits
- il-ghosttowns
- il-old-news
- il-history
Yahoogroups:
Message Boards
Rootsweb/Ancestry
Genforum:
Adams County IL USGenWeb has its own message board Message Board
History
- The History of Adams County, Illinois: Containing History of the County, Its Cities, Towns, etc., A Biographical Directory of Its Citizens, War Record of Its Volunteers in the Late Rebellion, General and Local Statistics, Portraits of Early Settlers and Prominent Men, History of the Northwest, History of Illinois, Map of Adams County, Constitution of the United States, Miscellaneous Matters, etc., etc. Chicago: Murray, Williamson & Phelps, 1879. Internet Archive; Ancestry ($); Reprint: FHL Book 977.344 H2ha 1977
- Collins, William Herzog. Past and Present of the City of Quincy and Adams County, Illinois. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1905. Internet Archive; Ancestry ($)
- Quincy and Adams County History and Representative Men. Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co., 1919. Internet Archive; Ancestry ($); World Vital Records ($).
Land and Property
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Adams County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
Copies of original records
- 1817–1860 Original land entry FHL film 967862
- 1817–1960 Recorder's Unclaimed Instruments IRAD–WIU
- 1817–1833 Deed Record, TranscriptionIRAD–WIU
- 1817–1818, 1853, 1855 Military land warrants FHL film 1787254 Item 7
- 1817–1861 Land Patent RecordIRAD–WIU
- 1818–1832 Transcribed conveyances FHL film 967860–1
- 1818–1847 Old deeds and index FHL first film 1697967 Item 7 (first of 2 films)
- 1818–1927 Deed Record IRAD–WIU
- 1823–1872 Land record FHL film 1853894 Item 3
- 1825–1827 Deeds and index FHL first film 967530 (first of 86 films)
- 1825–1892 Deed Index IRAD–WIU
- 1832–1900 Quit claim deeds FHL first film 1822224 Item 2 (first of 3 films)
- 1834–1853 Land sold for tax FHL film 1853889 Item 2
- 1834–1873 Surveyor's records FHL film 1839864 Items 2–3
- 1835–1942 Real estate records FHL first film 1787255 Items 1-2 (first of 2 films)
- 1835–1852 Mortgage Entry Books IRAD–WIU
- 1836–1852 Mortgages FHL film 967869 (first of 3 films)
- 1836–1845 Mortgage Record IRAD–WIU
- 1837–1900 Release deeds FHL first film 1822223 (first of 3 films)
- 1837–1850 Certificates of land purchase FHL film 1697967 Item 7 (first of 2 films)
- 1839–1900 Warranty deeds FHL film 1822227 Item 2 (first of 3 films)
- 1840–1884 Chattel mortgage packets FHL film 1787891
- 1840–1959 Chattel Mortgages IRAD–WIU
- 1842–1941 Administrator's and executor's deeds FHL film 1787254 Item 10
- 1849–1874 Entry Books IRAD–WIU
- 1850 Patent book FHL film 1862848 Item 5
- 1851–1857 Swamp Land Record IRAD–WIU
- 1851–1855 Swampland Records FHL film 1688530
- 1856–1931 Guardian deeds FHL film 1787254 Item 6
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Adams County land and property may be found in the FHLC and FHLC–maps. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Online Resources
- Beginning 1820 Land Patent Search See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database.
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
- Adams County Federal Township Plats
- Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)
- Adams County Deeds/Land courtesy USGenWeb Archives Illinois.
Maps
Medical Records
Military History and Records
Civil War
Civil War service men from Adams County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Adams County.
- - 1st Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company F.
- - 2nd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, (Adams County Cavalry) Company L.
- - 3rd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company F.
- - 10th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Companies A, D, and E.
- - 10th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- - 16th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, C, and H.
- - 27th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- - 50th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, and K.
- - 78th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, E, F, G, I, and K.
- - 84th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies E and I.
- - 118th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D, F, and K.
- - 119th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, G, and I.
- - 137th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies A, B, D, and G.
- - 148th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, D, F, G, and H.
- - 151st Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company H.
- Illinois military census, 1861-1862 FHL film 2209347
A list, by county, of able-bodied male citizens between the ages of eighteen and forty-five in pursuance of General Orders No. 99 of the War Department and instructions of the Adjutant General of the State of Illinois. Adams, Cook, JoDavies and Lake counties.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.
The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library.
- 1826–1844 Circuit court records (contains judgements and naturalizations) FHL 961246
Newspapers and Obituaries
The Adams County ILGenWeb Project has a nice collection of Obituaries & Death Notices.
Poorhouses
Adams County Almshouse Register Index, 1873-1898, courtesy: Illinois State Archives.
Probate Records
Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Adams County records. For information on how to use IRAD see theWIU IRAD Wiki page.
Copies of original records
- 1826–1849 Probate letters of administration FHL film 1853890 Items 4-5
- 1826–1900 Probate Case Files IRAD–WIU
- 1826–1964 Probate Case Files Index IRAD–WIU
- 1826–1969 Probate Record Index IRAD–WIU
- 1827–1849 Probate bonds FHL film 1853890 Items 2-3
- 1827–1854 Chancery case files (includes guardianship and probate) FHL first film 1697967 Item 7 (first of 16 films)
- 1830–1969 Probate index FHL first film 961231 (first of 6 films)
- 1830–1919 Probate and County Court Index IRAD–WIU
- 1832–1938 Estate records and index (index to 1964) FHL first film 961234 (first of 183 films)
- 1836–1922, 1930, 1933 Original wills and probate papers FHL film 1854864 (first of 32 films) and book 977.344 P22w
- 1837–1908 Wills IRAD–WIU FHL film 961242–5
- 1837–1935 Chancery records - includes guardianship, divorce, and probate related records FHL first film 1839864 Item 4 (first of 27 films)
- 1837–1964 Probate Will Record Index IRAD–WIU FHL first film 934657 (first of 3 films)
- 1842–1941 Administrator's and executor's deeds FHL film 1787254 Item 10
- 1844–1943 Last wills and testaments and probate related papers FHL book 977.344 P22s
- 1847–1849 Record FHL first film 1787253 Item 4
- 1847–1849 Probate Minutes IRAD–WIU
- 1849–1908 Probate Wills IRAD–WIU
- 1849–1943 Probate orders and decrees FHL first film 1862204 Items 2-4 (first of 21 films)
- 1850–1890 Probate related letters and bonds FHL first film 1862669 Items 2-3(first of 2 films)
- 1857–1925 Letters of administration, bonds and petitions FHL first film 1862524 Items 3-4 (first of 8 films)
- 1871–1931 Will boxes FHL first film 933954 (first of 29 films)
- 1883–1954 Widow's relinquishments and selections FHL first film 1862518 Item 4 (first of 3 films)
- 1883–1925 Probate letters of testamentary FHL first film 1862670 Item 4 (first of 7 films)
- 1897–1935 Conservator's bonds and letters FHL film 1862844 Items 2-3
- 1897–1920 Probate Will Record, Extra-Jurisdictional IRAD–WIU FHL film 967872
- 1900–1932 Letters of administration, de bonis non (of the goods not administered) with will annexed (1900–1929) FHL first film 1862668 Items 2-4(first of 2 films)
- 1907–1925 Records of wills FHL first film 1862847 (first of 2 films)
- 1909–1951 Partial index to Original wills and probate papers FHL first film 1697968 Item 7(first of 2 films)
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Adams County probates may be found in the Illinois, Adams – Probate and on Illinois, Adams – Probate record indexes topic pages of the Family History Library catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Online Resources
Adams County Will Records courtesy USGenWeb Archives Illinois.
Public Records
Repositories
Inventory of the county archives of Illinois, no. 1, Historical Records Survey, pub. 1939 FHL Book 977.344 A5h, film 908539 Item 1
County Courthouse
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Adams County are kept, see the Adams County Courthouse page.
Family History Centers
Quincy Illinois Family History Center
210 Cardinal Terrace
Quincy, IL 62301
217-224-3220
To learn more about the genealogical resources available at Family History Centers, see Introduction to LDS Family History Centers. For center hours and holiday closure information, see Quincy Illinois Family History Center.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository
IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Western Illinois University houses the records for Adams County.
Public Libraries
Camp Point Public Library District
206 E. State Street
Camp Point, IL 62320
Tel: 217-593-7021
Clayton Public Library District
211 East Main Street
Clayton, IL 62324
Tel: 217-894-6519
Four Star Public Library District
132 W. South Street
Mendon, IL 62351
Tel: 217-936-2131
Facebook
Quincy Public Library
526 Jersey
Quincy, IL 62301
Tel: 217-223-1309
Schools
- 1883–1956 School teachers' daily registers IRAD–WIU
Social Groups Online
Societies
Great River Genealogical Society
c/o Quincy Public Library
526 Jersey Street
Quincy, IL 62301-3927
Email: contact@gr-gs.org
Historical Society of Quincy and Adams County
425 South 12th Street
Quincy, IL 62301-4303
Tel: 217-222-1835
Fax:217-222-8212
Email: hsqac@sbcglobal.net
Taxation
Vital Records
See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Adams County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Adams County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.
To learn how to order birth, marriage, and death records, visit the County Clerk's website:
Adams County Clerk
Vital Records
Georgia Volm
507 Vermont St
Quincy, IL 62301
217-277-2150
Births
Copies of Original Birth Records
- 1855–1915 Birth Record IndexIRAD–WIU
- 1859–1915 Birth Certificate Index, DelayedIRAD–WIU
- 1866–1903 Birth Records FHL first film 1870153 Item 3 (first of 3 films)
- 1877–1903 Birth Record IRAD–WIU
Marriages
Abstracts of Marriage Records
- 1825–1899 Great River Genealogical Society. Marriages of Adams County, Illinois [Quincy, Illinois]: Great River Genealogical Society (Illinois), 1979. Many libraries (WorldCat)FHL book 977.344 V2m v. 1–4
Copies of original Marriage Records
- 1825–1926 Marriage records FHL film 1870158 Item 2–3
- 1825–1926 Marriage RecordIRAD–WIU
- 1825–1917 Marriage Record Index IRAD–WIU
- 1834–1923 Adams County, Illinois marriage records FHL first film 1845384 Item 1(first of 4 films)
Some of the Family History Library's Collection of Adams County marriages have been digitized: Illinois County Marriages, 1810-1934.
Online Resources
- 1763-1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900
- 1790–1860 Illinois Marriage index found at Ancestry.com ($)
Deaths
Copies of original Death Records
- 1877–1990 Index to register of deaths IRAD–WIU FHL first film 1839122 (first of 29 films)
- 1877–1915 Death Record IRAD–WIU FHL film 1870155 Item 3
- 1878–1972 Death Record Index IRAD–WIU
Online Resources
- Pre-1916 Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre-1916
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950
- 1850–1885 U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Brown County Permanent Resident Index (burials), courtesy: ILGenWeb
Divorce Records
- 1837–1935 Chancery records - includes guardianship, divorce, and probate related records FHL first film 1839864 Item 4 (first of 27 films)
- 1851–1853 Circuit Court Case Files, DivorcesIRAD–WIU
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Adams County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Adams – Vital Records and the Illinois, Adams – Vital Records - indexes topic page topic page of the Family History Library catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Websites
- Adams County, Illinois Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092, FHL Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
|
Hancock County |
| ||
| Marion County, Missouri and Lewis County, Missouri | |
Brown County and Schuyler County | ||
| | ||||
| | ||||
| Pike County |
| |||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 18:49.
- This page has been accessed 6,953 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



