Adams County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Adams County

Guide to Adams County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records


Adams County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 7, 1835
County Seat Decatur
Courthouse
Address Adams County Courthouse
112 S 2nd Street
Decatur, IN 46733
Phone: 219.724.2600
Adams County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
 
Marriage
 
Death
 
Land
 
Probate
1882*
 
1836*
 
1882*
 
1837
 
1838
*For earlier dates, 

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries 

  • Parent Counties: Formed from Adams New Purchase (Allen/Delaware/Randolph) in 1835[1]
  • County Seat: Decatur [2]


Neighboring Counties

  • Neighboring Counties: Adams County, Indiana residents may also have records in [3]
    Allen (north) · Jay (south) · Van Wert (northeast) · Mercer (southeast) · Wells (west)
Wabash CountyGrant CountyBlackford CountyJay CountyDarke CountyVan Wert CountyPaulding CountyMercer CountyAdams CountyHuntington CountyWhitley CountyAllen CountyWells CountyINAdams.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Neighboring Counties

Allen  • Wells  • Jay  • Van Wert • Mercer

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

  • Adams County Cemeteries by Township - usgenweb

Census Records

For tips on accessing Adams County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records. 


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Adams County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.


For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.


Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.


See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

Civil War
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883 Adams County, Indiana (Source: Internet Archive)

-Civil War service men from Adams County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Adams County.

World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945
  • Adams County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps  -  AccessGenealogy

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Adams County, Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings. The Indiana Division of the Indiana State Library has the state’s largest newspaper collection. Their newspaper microfilms are available through inter-library loan. For a county-by-county inventory of their 16,500 reels of Indiana newspaper microfilms, see their Indiana Collection.

Other places to access newspapers are Newspaper Archive ($)(may be free at your local library), public librariescollege or university libraries, the Library of Congress, or Google News.

For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.

Obituaries

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records

School Records


Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records. [4]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:


Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Adams County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Adams County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records
  • 1882-1920 Index to Birth Records Adams County usgenweb
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. Ancestry.com wiki contributors, "Adams County, Ohio" in Ancestry.com: Wiki at http://www.ancestry.com/wiki/index.php?title=Monroe _County,_Ohio (accessed 4 August 2012).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Indiana (accessed 2 August 2013).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adams, Indiana 211 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:00.
  • This page has been accessed 26,360 times.