Adams County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Mississippi Gotoarrow.png Adams County

Guide to Adams County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about a southwestern Mississippi county. For other uses, see Adams.
Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Adams County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Adams County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1799 from the Natchez District
County Seat Natchez
Courthouse
Address Adams County Court House

Circuit Clerk (601) 446-6326 Natchez, MS 39120 Natchez City Hall (601) 445-7500 Natchez, MS 39120

Contents

County Courthouse

Adams County Courthouse
115 S Wall St; PO Box 1008
Natchez, MS 39120;
Phone: 601.446.6684

Clerk Chancery Court has court, land and probate records. Clerk Circuit Court has marriage and death records. [1]

Beginning Dates for Adams County, Mississippi Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate






History

Parent County

1799--Adams County was created 2 April 1799 from the Natchez District.
County seat:  Natchez [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1643-1947) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Names in Stone

See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Adams County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Adams County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Adams County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Adams County. 
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
Company B - Natchez Southrons [also listed as Co. C]
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Light Artillery
Company H - Connor Battery
- 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company B - Natchez Fencibles

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Adams County, Mississippi Clerk of Court and are housed at the Adams County, Mississippi Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Mississippi Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
  • 1799-1819 - Adams County Birth Index Vol. 1, 1799-1819. Batch C516691 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
  • 1799-1819 - Adams County Marriage Book 1 Index 1799-1819. Batch M516691 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1819-1826 - Adams County Marriage Books 2 thru 4 Index 1819-1826. Batch M516692 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1826-1835 - Adams County Marriage Book 5 Index 1826-1835. Batch M516693 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1835-1851 - Adams County Marriage Book 6 Index 1835-1851. Batch M516694 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1851-1860 - Adams County Marriage Books 7A and 7B Index 1851-1860. Batch M516695 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1860-1873 - Adams County Marriage Books 8 and 9 Index 1860-1873. Batch M516696 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1873-1885 - Adams County Marriage Books 10 thru 12 Index 1875-1885. Batch M516704 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1892-1895 - Adams County Marriage Books 13 and 14 Index 1892-1895. Batch M516705 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1866-1870 - Adams County Marriage Books 18 and 19 Index 1866-1870. Batch M516698 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1870-1874 - Adams County Marriage Books 20 and 21 Index 1870-1874. Batch M516699 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1874-1880 - Adams County Marriage Books 22 and 23 Index 1874-1880. Batch M516701 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1880-1885 - Adams County Marriage Books 24 and 25 Index 1880-1885. Batch M516702 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1885 - Adams County Marriage Books 26 and 27 Index 1885. Batch M516703 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1886-1890 - Adams County Marriage Books 26 and 27 Index 1886-1890. Batch M516706 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1890-1893 - Adams County Marriage Books 28 and 29 Index 1890-1893. Batch M516707 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1892-1895 - Adams County Marriage Books 30 and 31 Index 1892-1895. Batch M516708 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
  • 1835-1905 - Adams County Death Index 1835-1905. Batch B735128 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1857-1909 - Natchez Death Index 1857-1909. Batch B735084 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies


Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adams County, Mississippi page 378, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 3.12 3.13 3.14 3.15 3.16 3.17 3.18 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:04.
  • This page has been accessed 13,621 times.