Adams County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Adams County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adams County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Ohio | |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Adams County Courthouse 110 W. Main St. West Union, Ohio 45693-1347 Adams County Website Phone: 937.544.5547 |
|---|---|
United States
Ohio
Adams County
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Hamilton and Washington counties in 10 July 1797.[1]
- County Seat: West Union
- Neighboring Counties: Adams County, Ohio residents may also have records in [2]Lewis County, Kentucky(south) · Scioto(east) · Pike (northeast) · Brown (west) · Mason County, Kentucky (southwest) · Highland (north)
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Adams County boundary changes.
Record Loss
There was a courthouse fire in 1910, resulting in the loss of most of the will books and other probate files, as well as some other records.Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Adams County Biographies for more information.
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
Burial Information
- The Tombstone Transcription Project (Ohio USGenWeb)
- Digital Images of Adams County, Ohio Gravestones (Search ohiogravestones.org)
- Adams County Cemeteries (RootsWeb, some broken links but also some good info)
- Adams County Cemeteries (web content preserved on Archive.org, volunteer transcriptions)
- Cemeteries of Adams County (FindAGrave)
- Cemetery Records for Adams County on FHL Microfilm (See Ordering Microfilm to learn more.)
- Famous Politicians buried in Adams County (PoliticalGraveyard.com)
Cemetery Listings (no burial information)
- GPS Coordinates for Adams County Cemeteries (GenealogyTrails.com)
- List of Adams County Cemeteries (Location information at ePodunk. No burial information.)
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1800 | 3,432 | ||
| 1810 | 9,434 | 174.9% | |
| 1820 | 10,406 | 10.3% | |
| 1830 | 12,281 | 18.0% | |
| 1840 | 13,183 | 7.3% | |
| 1850 | 18,883 | 43.2% | |
| 1860 | 20,309 | 7.6% | |
| 1870 | 20,750 | 2.2% | |
| 1880 | 24,005 | 15.7% | |
| 1890 | 26,093 | 8.7% | |
| 1900 | 26,328 | 0.9% | |
| 1910 | 24,755 | −6.0% | |
| 1920 | 22,403 | −9.5% | |
| 1930 | 20,381 | −9.0% | |
| 1940 | 21,705 | 6.5% | |
| 1950 | 20,499 | −5.6% | |
| 1960 | 19,982 | −2.5% | |
| 1970 | 18,957 | −5.1% | |
| 1980 | 24,328 | 28.3% | |
| 1990 | 25,371 | 4.3% | |
| 2000 | 27,330 | 7.7% | |
- Census Index Online
- Census for Adams County
- 1820 United States Federal Census $
- 1830 United States Federal Census $
- 1840 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census 1850
- United States Census Population Schedules, 1850 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- United States Census 1860
- 1860 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census 1870
- United States Census 1880 (Index only)
- 1880 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census 1900
- 1910 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census 1920
- 1930 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census 1930
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
General
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Court Records
- Adams County Ohio Court Directory
- Many Court and Guardianship Records for Adams County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Funeral Homes
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Adams County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
A History of Adams County, Ohio: From Its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time, 1900. (Internet Archive)
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Adams County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
- A History of Adams County, Ohio From Its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time, including, Character Sketches of the Prominent Persons Identified with the First Century of the County's Growth. By Nelson W. Evans and Emmons B. Stivers.
- Many History Records for Adams County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- Adams County Biography (WorldCat)
- Biographical Index
- Adams County, Ohio (WikipediA)
- Historical Collections of Ohio by Henry Howe 1888
- A Book of Clevelanders
- Thompson, Carl N., Thompson's Historical Collections of Adams County, Ohio (West Union, Ohio : Adams County Historical Society (Ohio), c1991) FHL 977.186 H2t
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Many Land Records for Adams County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding Land Records at Other Repositories
Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog(For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Maps
- Adams County, Ohio 1895 U. S. Plat Map
- Adams County, Ohio Map
- Category: Maps of Adams County, Ohio
- Map Showing Adams County, Ohio
- Adams County, Ohio
- Adams County Map
- Many Maps for Adams County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Military
Revolutionary War
- Adams County Military in the Revolutionary War
- Revolutionary Veterans living in Adams County Ohio and Revolutionary Veterans Service Information
War of 1812
War of 1812 Adams County Ohio Veterans
Civil War
- Civl War Research Database $
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
- Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War
World War I
World War II
- U. S. World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946 $
- U. S. World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942 $
- United States, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942 Collection Description: Images of cards for men, age 45-64 (born 1877-1897), included in the fourth draft conducted on Arpil 27, 1942.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Adams County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Ohio newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Adams County, Ohio Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate Records
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Adams County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Adams County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [3] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
- 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
- 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
Finding Probate Records at Other Repositories
Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Public Records
Schools
- Adams County Schools
- School Records
- Many School Records for Adams County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Repositories
Courthouse
Adams County Courthouse
110 W. Main St.
West Union, Ohio 45693-1347
Adams County Courthouse (Wikipedia)
Phone: 937–544–5547
- Probate Court has births and deaths 1888-1893, marriages 1803-1853 and from 1910, probate records 1849-1860 and from 1910.
- Court Clerk has divorces and court records from 1910.
- County Recorder has land records from 1797.
- Board of Health has births and deaths from 1908.[1]
Family History Centers
FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FamilySearch Center for Adams County, Ohio is the Adams Ohio Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online on the FHC directory.
Libraries
Museums
Societies
The Adams County Historical Society
507 N. Cherry St.
West Union, Ohio 45693
Phone: 937-544-8522
- Adams County Genealogy Genealogical Society West Union, Ohio
- Ohio Historical Society
Taxation
Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.
Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Vital Records
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Adams County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Adams County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Adams County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.
Birth
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Recordings of Births The Adams County, OH Courthouse was destroyed by fire on February 25,1910. All official Probate Court Birth Records were destroyed. Births may be found in the "Adams County,OH Probate Court Assessor Books," (1879 thru 1895) and the "Restored Adams County, OH Board of Health Birth Records," (1857 to 1909).
- 1800-1962 - Ohio, Births and Christenings Index, 1800-1962 at ancestry.com ($)
- 1821–1962 Ohio, Births and Christenings, 1821-1962 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This is an incomplete index of extractions of original records and of patron-submitted records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. Information may have been previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- 1856–1909 Ohio, County Births, 1856-1909 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index. The collection includes a name index and images of county birth records in Ohio. The time period and type of record varies by county.
- 1908-1964 - Ohio, Birth Index, 1908-1964 at ancestry.com ($)
- Recordings of Births The Adams County, OH Courthouse was destroyed by fire on February 25,1910. All official Probate Court Birth Records were destroyed. Births may be found in the "Adams County,OH Probate Court Assessor Books," (1879 thru 1895) and the "Restored Adams County, OH Board of Health Birth Records," (1857 to 1909).
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Marriage
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1789–1994 Ohio, County Marriages, 1789-1994 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index. Name index and images of county marriage records acquired from local courthouses.
- 1800-1945 - Marriages of Adams County, Ohio and Marriage Data - Adams County Ohio 1800-1945
- 1800–1958 Ohio, Marriages, 1800-1958 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index. Name index to marriage records from the state of Ohio. Microfilm copies of these records are available at the Family History Library and FamilySearch Centers. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.
- 1803-1900 - Ohio Marriages, 1803-1900 at ancestry.com ($)
- 1896 - 1896 Marriage License Issued
- 1898-1912 - Ohio Marriages at ancestry.com ($)
- 1970-2007 - Ohio Marriage Index, 1970, 1972-2007 at ancestry.com ($)
- 1789–1994 Ohio, County Marriages, 1789-1994 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index. Name index and images of county marriage records acquired from local courthouses.
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Death
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1889 Adams County Adult Deaths: 1889 Courtesy OhioGenWeb
- 1908-1953 Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
- 1908-1932-, 1938-1944, 1958-2002 Ohio Deaths, 1908-1932-, 1938-1944, 1958-2002 - Ancestry ($)
- 1909 Adams County Deaths 1909 Courtesy Genealogy Trails
- 1913-1937 Adams County Death Index 1913-1937 Courtesy OhioGenWeb
- Adams County Social Security Index Rootsweb
Original Death Records on Microfilm
Divorce
Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Web Sites
- Ohio Digital Collections statewide database links
- Family History Library Catalog
- OHGenWeb - Adams County
- UsGenWeb - -Adams County
- Genealogy Trails, Adams County, Ohio
- Ohio Genealogy Express
Places
Populated Places
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 540. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2013, at 19:53.
- This page has been accessed 6,543 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


