Addington, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent   Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Addington, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Addington, Kent
Addington St Margaret of Antioch Kent.jpg
Addington St Margaret of Antioch Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Larkfield
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling PLU
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1716
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ADDINGTON (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Larkfield, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 8 miles (N. W. by W.) from Maidstone. [1]


Addington is a village and civil parish in the Tonbridge and Malling district of Kent Addington Kent Wikipedia

Addington had a saxon church and Addington St Margaret of Antioch is in part from the 1150 Norman replacement church and forms an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Rochester. A map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you

The church of St Margaret of Antioch, The Close, Addington has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The village and civil parish of Addington should not be confused with other villages of this name including Addington, Surrey

Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 542-548 at British History Online and Kent Churches website


Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Addington, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Addington, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1561-1840

FS BTs 1716-1833 1716-1833 1716-1833
IGI 1562-1875 1568-1836

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Addington are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for Addington 1851-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Addington on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 12-15.Date accessed: 08 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 September 2014, at 16:26.
  • This page has been accessed 4,117 times.