Adel, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Adel

Guide to Adel, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Adel, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Skyrack
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Carlton Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Otley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1606
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Old Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1606.

ADDLE, or Adel, a township and a parish in Otley district, W. R. Yorkshire. The parish contains also the township of Arthington. Post Town, Horsforth under Leeds. [1]

ADDLE, or Adel (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Skyrack, W. riding of York; containing 1121 inhabitants, of whom 785 are in the township of Addle-cum-Eccup, 5¾ miles (N. N. W.) from Leeds. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Adel exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[3][4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
ADEL PARISH (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1822
FS 1600, 1606-1847
1606-1847 None

JOIN None 1606-1836
None
AC 1606-1858
1606-1858 1606-1836 1606-1876 1606-1876


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Adel to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Adel page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464268.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales.1870-72, Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 12-15. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
  4. 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  5. 'West Yorkshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1935,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  6. 'West Yorkshire, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  7. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 27 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,891 times.