Adisham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KentGotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Adisham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Adisham, Kent
Adisham Holy Innocents Kent.jpg
Adisham Holy Innocents Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Downhamford
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge PLU
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1569
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ADISHAM (Holy Innocents), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Downhamford, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 2¾ miles (S. W. by S.) from Wingham. [1]

Adisham is a village and civil parish within the City of Canterbury district of Kent See also Adisham Wikipedia

Adisham Holy Innocents is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you. Adisham is part of the East Bridge deanery interactive website

The church of Holy Innocents Church Lane Adisham has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 180-185. at British History Onlineand Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Adisham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Adisham, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1912 1538-1912 1540-1927; 1754-1921 (Banns) 1540-1927; 1754-1921 (Banns) 1538-1931 1538-1931

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Parish registers are deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives.

Land Tax

Images for Adisham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1828


Census records

There are transcriptions for the census returns for Adisham 1841-1901 Kent Archaelogical Society by Mike Doyle.

Census returns for Adisham 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 12-15. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 14:35.
  • This page has been accessed 2,302 times.