Adlingfleet, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Adlingfleet

Guide to Adlingfleet, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Adlingfleet, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Osgoldcross (Lower Division)
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Goole PLU
Registration District Goole
Records begin
Parish registers: 1694
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1648.

ADLINGFLEET (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Goole, Lower division of the wapentake of Osgoldcross, W. riding of York; comprising the townships of Eastoft, Fockerby, and Haldenby; and containing 448 inhabitants, of whom 199 are in the township of Adlingfleet, 9½ miles (S. E.) from Howden. There are two places of worship for Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records
Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Adlingfleet exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
  ADLINGFLEET PARISH (1694) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1694-1744, 1748-1892


FS 1695-1892

1694-1900

None

JOIN None
1720-1837

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Adlingfleet to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Adlingfleet page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

a. 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 12-15. Date accessed: 9 December 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,731 times.