Adlington, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Adlington

Guide to Adlington, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Adlington, Cheshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Prestbury
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ADLINGTON, is a township, in the parish of Prestbury, union and hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester, it is 5 miles (N. by W.) from Macclesfield.[1]

Adlington was one of the 35 pre-Norman townships in the ancient parish of Prestbury and remained part of the parish of Prestbury and the records of Prestbury St Peter contain Adlington residents.

It is known as Eduluintune in the Domesday Book. 

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church Records

Adlington was a chapelry in the parish of Prestbury.

Adlington Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Adlington Chapelry (1757) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1764-1911
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1757-1886
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Adlington baptisms, 1777-1794, along with records for Chelford and Prestbury, form part of the Norman Collection (manuscript, transcript, handwritten) compiled by Bertram William Tuff Norman, available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. (FHL BRITISH Book 942.71/P1 V26p; also on FHL BRITISH Film 823615 Item 3.)

Non-Conformist Churches

Adlington, Methodist Chapel (New Connexion, later United Methodist). Built in 1870, closed in 1957.

Registers of marriages, 1941–54, are at the Record Office.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Macclesfield (1837–98)
  •  Cheshire East (1998+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Macclesfield

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-17. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.

Bibliography


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 04:16.
  • This page has been accessed 6,242 times.