Admarsh, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Admarsh, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Admarsh, Lancashire
Admarsh Saint Eadmer .jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Garstang PLU
Registration District Garstang
Records begin
Parish registers: 1779
Bishop's Transcripts: 1815
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Admarsh (for which see Bleasdale), is a chapelry, in the parish of Lancaster, union of Garstang, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 7 miles (E. by N.) from Garstang. The chapel, called Admarsh Chapel, is a neat edifice with a square tower, rebuilt in 1835; it has a beautiful east window of stained glass.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records on the "Lancashire" main page.

Lancashire researchers now have two outstanding web sites with name lists or indexes, including one for local Lancashire births, marriages and deaths (BMDs) as well as a general site with national BMDs available to search online--including for Lancashire:

Church records

Admarsh in Bleasdale chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Lancaster to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk


BLEASDALE (ADMARSH CHAPEL) ST EADMER Chapelry (1779) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1779-1900 1849-1900  None
LOPC 1779-1982 1849-1976 1781-1900
LBMD None 1849-1976 None
LANCASTER ST MARY'S PARISH (1599) Indexes (ancient parish containing ADMARSH)
FS 1599-1886 1599-1812  None
LOPC 1749-1900 1599-1900 1749-1881
FMP  None 1539-1837 None
LBMD None 1837-1998 None 
AC 1559-1748 1559-1748 1559-1748


The Family History Library has microfilmed these chapelry registers and the data will eventually, also be posted online up to about 1910 (not as late as the above years). Here's the microfilm associated with this chapelry--Family History Library BRITISH Film 1517649 Items 7 - 11:

  • Baptisms, 1779-1900
  • Marriages, 1849-1900
  • Burials, 1807-1900


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Admarsh and comprising the whole ancient parish of Lancaster to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LANCASTER ST MARY PARISH page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306936.


Poor Law Unions

Garstang Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Admarsh in Lancaster on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 27 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 5,852 times.