Advent, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Advent, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Advent, Cornwall
Advent Church Cornwall.jpg
Advent Church Cornwall.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lesnewth
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Camelford PLU
Registration District Camelford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1709; For more records see Lanteglos by Camelford
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Minor
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ADVENT, or St. Adven, a parish, in the union of Camelford, hundred of Lesnewth, E. division of Cornwall, 1¾ mile (S.) from Camelford.[1]

Advent (Cornish: Sen Adhwynn) St Adwenna  was a chapelry of  Lanteglos-by-Camelford, Cornwall Ancient Parish in Cornwall.

Advent is a sparsely populated rural parish. Much of the area is moorland and  includes the hamlets of Tresinney  and Treclago and there is no village called Advent. The parish also encompasses several small farmstead hamlets, numerous scattered farms and Pencarrow House.

The parish church is dedicated to St Adwenna, one of the daughters of Brychan of Brycheiniog[. It stands in the fields on farmland 400 metres north-east of the hamlet of Tresinney at OS Grid Ref SX104816.[1] The church is in the Anglican Diocese of Truro and is notable for its high, pinnacled tower which houses a ring of four bells: the greater part of the building dates from the 15th century. The south aisle was added at that time; the north transept was Early English but was rebuilt in 1870, at which time the south transept was demolished, The font is Norman, plain and circular.

The ecclesiastical parish is the responsibility of the Rector of Lanteglos-by-Camelford and Advent has been associated with Lanteglos since medieval times.

Neighbouring Parishes

Historical Maps[1] may be used to locate nearby parishes by doing a search for the target parish, then clicking the "Options" tab and selecting "List contiguous parishes."

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the  present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A  popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Advent, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[9]
Advent, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1608-1801

COPC 1676-1772, 1813-1913
1676-1812, 1837-1911
1676-1772, 1813-1902
FMP 1676-1837 1616-1837 1813-1837
FREG
1676-1801

IGI 1676-1772 1676-1801
TGEN
1676-1801

Records deposited cover 1709-1979, these registers are kept at the County Record Office, County Hall, Truro TR1 3AY.

The Family History Library has marriages 1676-1801; Bishop's Transcripts 1676-1805; Parish registers 1813-1987.

Church records indexes: Parish register printouts: Christenings, 1676-1772.

Film numbers for Advent can be found at FamilySearch.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks website for online data content. Most of this county's parishes are listed with links to online transcriptions and/or indexes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241262.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Camelford Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable sites are:

Websites

Advent in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-17 Date accessed: 06 March 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.

Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites

Please add information about this parish.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:21.
  • This page has been accessed 2,856 times.