Affoltern am Albis parish, Zürich, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Zürich in Switzerland

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Affoltern am Albis

Aespli
Aeussere Butzen
Affoltern
Bühl
Ess
Fehrenbach
Feld (Hedingerstrasse)
Feld (Mettmenstetterstrasse)
Giessen

Haldengut
Haselacker
Hasenbühl
Innere Butzen
Itschlen
Kalkofen
Langacker
Lilienberg
Lochhof

Loo
Looren
Lueg is Land
Moos
Oberer Sonnenberg
Obertsacker
Rain
Rossmättli
Sandacker

Schanz
Schwanden
Sonnenbühl
Stigeli
Weid (bei Affoltern)
Weid (bei Fehrenbach)
Weinberg
Wilhof
Zwillikon

Surrounding Parishes

Aeugst am Albis
Hedingen
Jonen (Aargau)
Mettmenstetten
Obfelden
Ottenbach
Stallikon

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Affoltern am Albis:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 694
1634 1185139 1 290
1637 1185141 2 545
1640 1185143 1 665
1643 1185145 1 595
1643 1185145 1 661
1650 1185150 2 315
1657 1185179 1 28
1670 1185153 1 701
1678 1185152 3 879
1682 1185158 3 31
1689 1185164 1 671
1695 1185168 2 267
1708 1185169 2 333

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Affoltern am Albis families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Affoltern am Albis belongs to the Bezirk Affoltern civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Bezirkszivilstandsamt Affoltern
Gemeindezentrum
Zivilstandskreis
Marktplatz 1
CH - 8910 Affoltern am Albis

Tel: +41 44 762 56 65

email: zivilstandsamt@affoltern-am-albis.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Affoltern am Albis prior to 1875:

Aeberli (1875, from
   Aeugst am Albis)
Bär
Baumann
Bickel
Blickenstorfer
Buchmann
Burkhard
Dubs
Egli
Epprecht
Frei

Frick
Gut
Häberling
Huber
Hubschmid
Hufschmid
Hug
Hurter
Kleiner
Kleinert
Lüssi

Meier (1850, from
    Germany)
Metger (1875, from
    Sankt Gallen)
Müller
Nievergelt
Scheller
Schneebeli
Semper (1861, from
    Germany)
Sidler
Spinner

Stehli
Strohecker
Suter
Tschudi
Vollenweider
Weiss
Widler
Winkelmann
Wydler
Wyss
Zimmermann

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2014, at 20:34.
  • This page has been accessed 475 times.