Aghagallon, AntrimEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Ireland Gotoarrow.png Counties of Ireland Gotoarrow.png County Antrim Gotoarrow.png County Antrim Parishes Gotoarrow.png Aghagallon, Antrim

The following information is a starting point for records about the civil parish of Aghagallon. The information is based on locations and records before 1922.

Contents

Historical Overview

History

Aghagallon (also spelled: Aghagallen or Aughagallon), is a parish in the Barony of Upper Massareene. It is a vicarage, in the diocese of Connor, and is part of the union of Magheramesk.

In the Roman Catholic divisions it is the head of a union or distract called Ballinderry, which comprises the parishes of Aghagallen, Aghalee, Ballinderry, and Magheramesk, and contains two chapels, one of of which is in this parish.

Localities

Contiguous parishes are: Aghalee, Ballinderry, and Glenavy. Aghagallon is within the boundary of the Poor Law Union of Lurgan. The probate district for this area is Belfast.

To discover the townlands that are within this parishes boundaries go to the following website: List of townlands in County Antrim

Maps and gazetteers

 Website: www.irishtimes.com/ancestor  Includes Roman Catholic parish maps. Also http://www.libraryireland.com/topog/. provides access to  A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel Lewis, 1837.  Read more about maps and gazetteers.

Records

Cemeteries

There is a graveyard in the town of Aghagallon and there is also a graveyard in the town of Derrymore. The following website will provide information about the cemetery at Aghagallon, http://www.lurganancestry.com/aghagalloncem.htm.

Census

The purpose of a census was to gather information about people who lived in an area. While the government began census taking in 1821, only fragments exist before 1901. Censuses for 1901 and 1911 are available. Read more about the records in the Ireland Census article.

Add information here about census substitutes that you know about.

Church records

Read general information about church records.

Catholic

The Roman Catholic Parish of Aghagallon and Ballinderry has records of baptism, marriage, and death beginning in 1828. There missing dates : July 1848 to May 1872. Record availability is as follows: Original registers are in local custody. The National Library of Ireland has a microfilm copy the original register. Following are the particulars: Baptisms cover April 1, 1828 to December 20, 1880; Marriages cover May 25 1828 to November 8, 1880 and Burials are available from March 29, 1828 to July 5, 1848 and May 25 1872 to December 25 1880. The reference for these records is: Pos. 5467. The Public Record Office of Northern Ireland has copies of records for this parish as well. Baptisms: 1828-1889; Marriages: 1828-1889; Burials are available 1828-1846 and 1873-1881. The reference for this set of records is MIC. 1D/6.63. Lastly, the Ulster Historical Foundation has available Baptism records 1828-1900, Marriage records 1828-1900 and Burial records 1828-1900.

Church of Ireland

Records covering Aghagallon parish are found in the parish registers of Aghalee: baptisms 1811-1881, marriages 1811-1866, and burials 1811-1874. The records are kept at the Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.

The Parish Church of Aghalee also serves the civil parishes of Aghagallon and Magheramesk. Ecclesiastically, the three are one united Church of Ireland parish. The name of the church is Holy Trinity.

Augallon is an alternate spelling for Aghagallon; Magheramisk is an alternate spelling for Magheramesk.

Family History Library- Transcriptions
Baptisms 1812-1881
Marriages 1812-1845
Burials 1811-1874
Presbyterian

There are no known Presbyterian congregations within the boundary of Aghagallon parish, but the closest congregations are located in Ballinderry civil parish and Magheragall civil parish.

Methodist

The Methodists did not begin to develop their own churches until around 1816. Before that date large numbers of Presbyterians and members of the Church of Ireland had formed local Methodist societies, but their baptisms, marriages, and burials were entered into the registers of their parent church. From 1816 some of the Wesleyan Methodist groups began to do their own baptism. But other Methodist groups such as Primitive Wesleyan's would not allow their ministers to administer these sacraments so their baptisms are still found in the Church of Ireland and Presbyterian registers.

Society of Friends

To discover what is available on the Quakers population in this part of County Antrim contact:

Religious Society of Friends 4 Magheralave Road Lisburn BT28 3BD County Antrim E-mail: e-mail: qhist@eircom.net
Aso on the national level http://www.quakers-in-ireland.ie/historical-library/

Others

Name(s) of ecclesiastical parish, records, availability, archive, online indexes, notes.

Civil Registration

Government registration of births and deaths began in 1864. Registration of Protestant marriages began in 1845, with all marriages being registered by 1864. Go to the Ireland Civil Registration article to read more about these records.

Land records

The Registry of Deeds started in 1708. Land transactions were recorded, including immovable property passed on in a will and property given to a daughter at her marriage. Read more about these records in the Ireland Land and Property article.

Probate records

Probate dealt with the property of a deceased person. Read more about these records in the Ireland Probate Records article.

Add information about probate records for this parish.

School records

Read more about these records in the Ireland Schools article. Add records for this parish.

Tax records

The valuation of property for tax purposes was started in the 1840s by Richard Griffith. A tax paid to the church, call Tithe Applotments, began in the 1820s. Read about these records in the Ireland Taxation and Ireland Land and Property articles. Add records for this parish that you know about.

Web Sites

Add a site for this civil parish.

Further Reading


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2014, at 18:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,523 times.