Aghnamullen Civil Parish, County MonaghanEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Ireland Gotoarrow.png Counties of Ireland Gotoarrow.png County Monaghan Gotoarrow.png County Monaghan Parishes Gotoarrow.png Aghnamullen Civil Parish, County Monaghan

The following information is a starting point for records about the civil parish of Aghnamullen. The information is based on locations and records before 1922.

Contents

Historical Overview

History

Aghnamullen - also called Aughnamullen, is a parish in the unions of Castleblaney and Cootehill, in the barony of Cremorne, county of Monaghan, and province of Ulster, 3 miles from Ballibay, on the road to Dublin. The place contains 18,219 inhabitants (1847). It comprises, 30,710 acres.

The living is a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Clogher and in the patronage of the Bishop. The church is an old plain, but neat ediface, with a tower, and occupies a picturesque situation. Near Ballytrain is a chapel of ease, a very neat structure, for the eastern division of the parish, bult in 1828. The glebe-house is handsone and commodious, and the glebe comprises 46 acres.

Localities

Towns/Townlands

See the following website to find what towns and townlands are within this parish.

http://www.thecore.com/seanruad/

Parishes Surrounding Aghnamullen/Aughnamullen Parish

Ballybay, Clontibret, Donaghmoyne, Ematris, Kilmore, Magheross.

District/Poor Law Union

The civil parish of Aghnamullen is partly in the district/poor law union of Castleblaney and partly in the district/poor law union of Carrickmacross.

Maps and gazetteers

Add a Web site link for a map or gazetteer site, and/or add a printed source. Read more about maps and gazetteers.

Records

Cemeteries

The following Towns/Townlands have graveyards:

Aghmakerr (Roman Catholic); Corlet; Corlea(Presbyterian); Crossduff(Church of Ireland); Drumcunnion (Roman Catholic); Lattonfasky; Lisdrumcleve (Roman Catholic)..

Census

The purpose of a census was to gather information about people who lived in an area. While the government began census taking in 1821, only fragments exist before 1901. Censuses for 1901 and 1911 are available. Read more about the records in the Ireland Census article.

Add information here about census substitutes that you know about.

Church records

Read general information about church records.

Catholic

In the Roman Catholic divisions this parish is divided into two districts, east and west, having separate parochial clergy. There are five chapels, one of which, at Luttin was built in 1822 and another at Loughbawn, a spacious slated edifice, was built in 1833. The previous information came from Samuel Lewis' "Topographical Dictionary of Ireland". Brian Mitchell's book "A Guide to Irish Parish Registers" privides the following: Aughnamullen West 1841 and Aughnamullen East 1857 as places of worship for Roman Catholics.

The Family History Library has a  microfilm copy of the parish register for Aughnamullen East for the following time span : Baptisms 1857-1876 &1878-1881; Marriages 1857- 1876 & 1878-1881 and Deaths 1857 - 1876. These records are on microfilm number 979707 items 1 - 3; A duplicate microfilm number is 926048 items 1-3 is also available.

Church of Ireland

Registers for the Church of Ireland for the parish of Aghnamullen are lost. The source for this is "Irish Records : Sources for Family and Local History" by James G. Ryan. Ph. D.

Presbyterian

There are two places of worship for Presbyterians;  one at Ballytrain and the other at Crieve. These two are taken from Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Ireland. According to Brian Mitchell's "A Guide to Irish Parish Registers" we are given the following: Creeve-1819, Loughmourne - 1846, and Corlea - 1835. The dates are when the parish registers begin.

Methodist

No known congregation of Methodist meet in this civil parish.

Society of Friends

No known congregation met in this parish..

Others

Name(s) of ecclesiastical parish, records, availability, archive, online indexes, notes.

Civil Registration

Government registration of births and deaths began in 1864. Registration of Protestant marriages began in 1845, with all marriages being registered by 1864. Go to the Ireland Civil Registration article to read more about these records.

Land records

The Registry of Deeds started in 1708. Land transactions were recorded, including immovable property passed on in a will and property given to a daughter at her marriage. Read more about these records in the Ireland Land and Property article.

Probate records

Probate dealt with the property of a deceased person. Read more about these records in the Ireland Probate Records article.

Add information about probate records for this parish.

School records

Read more about these records in the Ireland Schools article. Add records for this parish.

Tax records

The valuation of property for tax purposes was started in the 1840s by Richard Griffith. A tax paid to the church, call Tithe Applotments, began in the 1820s. Read about these records in the Ireland Taxation and Ireland Land and Property articles. Add records for this parish that you know about.

Web Sites

Add a site for this civil parish.

Further Reading

Add sources here.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 June 2014, at 20:44.
  • This page has been accessed 2,057 times.