Aigburth, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Aigburth, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aigburth, Lancashire
St Anne's Church, Aigburth.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union West Derby PLU
Registration District West Derby
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prescot
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

AIGBURTH, or Aigburgh, a district chapelry, in the township of Garston, parish of Childwall, 4 miles (S. E.) from Liverpool. The chapel, dedicated to St. Anne, was erected in 1837 and is a good edifice in the Norman style, with a highly decorated interior; the east window is of stained glass, representing Christ healing the Leper: the tower is 65 feet high, with a richly ornamented battlement. A Roman Catholic chapel, dedicated to St. Augustine, was built in 1837.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Aigburth chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Childwall, to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
AIGBURTH ST ANDREW Chapelry  (1815) Indexes - a.k.a. Liverpool St Andrew
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1816-1874  1851-1892 None
LOPC 1874-1904 None None
LBMD None None None
AIGBURTH ST ANNE Chapelry  (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1875-1987 None
AIGBURTH ST-MICHAEL-IN-THE-HAMLET Chapelry  (1815) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1815-1909 1815-1904 1815-1941
LBMD None None None
CHILDWALL ALL SAINTS PARISH (1557) Indexes (ancient parish containing AIGBURTH)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1557-1853 1557-1638, 1653-1838 None
LOPC 1557-1753 1557-1638, 1653-1753 1653-1728
LBMD None 1837-1963 None
AC 1557-1753 1557-1753 1557-1753


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Aigburth and comprising the whole ancient parish of Childwall to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the CHILDWALL PARISH page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306899.


Poor Law Unions

West Derby, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Bibliography

Pollard, Richard; Nikolaus Pevsner (2006), The Buildings of England: Lancashire: Liverpool and the South-West, New Haven & London: Yale University Press, p. 380, ISBN 0 300 10910 5

Websites

Aigburth on GENUKI

http://www.imagesofengland.org.uk/details/default.aspx?pid=1&id=213625 English heritage web reference

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 27 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 4,351 times.