Ainsworth, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Ainsworth, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ainsworth, Lancashire
Ainsworth Lancashire contributor Andrew Forrest.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bury PLU
Registration District Bury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1727
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bolton le Moors
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

AINSWORTH, or Cockey-Moor, a parochial chapelry, in the parish of Middleton, union of Bury, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 3 miles (E. by N.) from Bolton. The church was formerly surrounded by a moat, and stood in the centre of a common; it was rebuilt in 1832, in the early English style, has a square tower, and, standing on an eminence, is seen at a great distance. There is a place of worship for English Presbyterians.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Ainsworth chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Middleton to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
AINSWORTH CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1727) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1727-1812 1727-1812 1727-1812
AC 1813-1876 1759-1894 1813-1880
FS 1727-1912 1731-1754; 1808-1837; 1843-1948 1727-1948
LBMD None 1837-1900 None
MIDDLETON ST LEONARD PARISH (1541) Indexes (ancient parish containing AINSWORTH)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1541-1752

1541-1752; 1813-1818;  1828-1830

1609-1678; 1805-1819;  1827-1832; 1838-1847; 1865-1874

LOPC  1695-1874  1541-1836  1541-1874
LBMD  None  1837-1974 None 
FMP None 1541-1752 None
AC 1541-1752 1541-1752 1541-1752
FREG 1541-1630, 1653-1729 1541-1644, 1658-1729 1641-1729


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Ainsworth and comprising the whole ancient parish of Middleton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the MIDDLETON PARISH page.


Parish registers for Ainsworth, 1727-1848 Microfilm of original records in the Manchester Central Library, Manchester. Ainsworth is a chapelry in the parish of Middleton.

Contents
Film
Baptisms, 1727-1836; marriages, 1739-1837; burials, 1727-1848.
FHL BRITISH Film
559148

Bishop's transcripts for Ainsworth, 1731-1877 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. Ainsworth, also called Cockey, is a chapelry in the parish of Middleton. Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/231

Content Film
Baptisms, 1731-1738, 1740-1744, 1751-1758, 1765-1768, 1807-1835, 1856-1870, 1872, 1877; Marriages, 1731-1737, 1740, 1742-1745, 1751-1754, 1765-1766, 1807-1835; Burials, 1731-1736, 1740-1745, 1751-1757, 1767-1768, 1808-1835, 1857-1870, 1872-1874, 1877.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545704 Item 2


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306928.


Poor Law Unions

Bury Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ainsworth on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 27 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 5,712 times.