Aisholt, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Aisholt, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aisholt, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cannington
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bridgwater PLU
Registration District Bridgwater
Records begin
Parish registers: 1652
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridgwater
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AISHOLT, or Asholt (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Bridgwater, hundred of Cannington, W. division of Somerset, 7¼ miles (W. by S.) from Bridgwater.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538 [2] .

Aisholt, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[10]
WCGEN = West Country Genealogy - free[11]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[12]
AISHOLT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1654-1812

FREG 1598-1860
1599-1862
1596-1860
FS 1598-1812 (gaps)


JOIN
1654-1837

MARR
1606-1869

NBI

1599-1995
PALL
1790-1812

SOPC 1657-1860
1654-1862
1645-1860
WCGEN
1654-1812

WEST 1680-1860
1654-1862
1679-1860
Church records on microfilm

Bishops Transcripts

Parish Register

Marriages

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474594.

Poor Law Union

The Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834 placed the responsibility for the care of the poor in England and Wales, from 1834 onward, on Poor Law Unions[13]. The Poor Law Unions and their workhouses took over this responsibility from the Church of England parishes. Prior to 1834 a few parishes or collections of parishes had established a few workhouses to help relieve the poor and provide indoor relief in the form of food, clothes and shelter.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

School Records

School records are a primary source for genealogists. The admission registers of schools administered by local authorities, perhaps from the 1870s but more frequently from 1902, usually show under the date of entry, the child's name and address and his or her date of birth. Some registers, but not all, also show the name and occupation of the parent or guardian, the name of the previous school attended and the reason for leaving [14].

Tax Records

In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax[15] .

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Aisholt/index.html

West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. England Church Records
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  7. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  10. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  11. West Country Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  12. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 21 October 2013.
  13. England and Wales Poor Law
  14. England schools
  15. Land Tax Assessment Records

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:58.
  • This page has been accessed 3,752 times.