Aislaby, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Aislaby

St Margaret Aislaby Yorkshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

AISLABY, or Aysleyby, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Whitby, E. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 3 miles (S. W. by W.) from Whitby; containing 346 inhabitants. [1]

AISLABY, a chapelry in Whitby parish, N. R. Yorkshire.[2]

ALSO

AISLABY, a township, in the parish of Middleton, union, and W. division of the lythe, of Pickering, N. riding of York, 1½ mile (W. N. W.) from Pickering; containing 128 inhabitants.[3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Aislaby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AO = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
 AISLABY CHAPELRY (1866) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

1866, 1882

1826

JMI None
None

None
ANC (£) None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

AO None

None

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Aislaby and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whitby to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Whitby page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non-conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464233.

Poor Law Unions

Whitby Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 17-20. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-1872) Date accessed: 10 January 2014.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 17-20. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,314 times.