Aitkin County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Aitkin County

Guide to Aitkin County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Aitkin County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Aitkin County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded May 23, 1857
County Seat Aitkin
Courthouse
Address Aitkin County Courthouse
209 2nd Street NW


Aitkin, MN 56431-1297
Phone: 218-927-7336
Aitkin County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Aitkin County Government
209 2nd Street NW
Aitkin, MN 56431-1297
Phone: 218.927.218.927.7336 

Clerk District Court has birth records from 1883,
marriage records from 1885, death records from 1887,
divorce records from 1886, probate, court and
naturalization records from 1885.
County Recorder has land records. [1]

History

  • Crow Wing County was formed later same day from Aitkin County.
  • Named for William Alexander Aitkin, a fur trader for the American Fur Company, under John Jacob Astor.  A brief history of William Alexander Aitkin can be found on the Minnesota Historical Society Place Name page.  (Select Aitkin County.)
  • The county originally had 17 townships closest to the Mille Lacs Lake.

Parent County

  • 1857--Aitkin County was created 23 May 1857 from Pine and Ramsey Counties. County seat: Aitkin [2]

Boundary Changes

  • Sometime between 1857 and 1871, the county acquired the out-lands of Itasca and Pine Counties to its north and east.
  • The county was reorganized in 1871, taking the lands from Cass and Itasca counties and losing a point located in southwest corner to Crow Wing county.

For animated maps illustrating Minnesota County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Minnesota County Boundary Maps" (1849-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities: Aitkin . Hill City . McGrath . McGregor . Palisade . Tamarack

Townships: Aitkin . Ball Bluff . Balsam . Beaver . Clark . Cornish . Farm Island . Fleming . Glen . Haugen . Hazelton . Hill Lake . Idun . Jevne . Kimberly . Lakeside . Lee . Libby . Logan . Macville . Malmo . McGregor . Millward . Morrison . Nordland . Pliny . Rice . Salo . Seavey . Shamrock . Spalding . Spencer . Turner . Verdon . Wagner . Waukenabo . Wealthwood . White Pine . Williams . Workman

Unorganized Townships: Davidson . Jewett . Northeast Aitken . Northwest Aitken

Communities: Arthyde . Ball Bluff . Bennettville . Cutler . East Lake (Minisinaakwaang) . Giese . Glen . Glory . Haypoint . Jacobson . Kimberly . Lake Minnewawa . Lawler . Libby . Malmo . Nichols . Pliny . Rabey . Red Top . Ronald . Rossburg . Sandy Lake (Gaa-mitaawangaagamaag) . Sheshabee . Shovel Lake . Swatara . Thor . Waukenabo . Wealthwood

Neighboring Counties

Carlton | Cass | Crow Wing | Itasca | Kanabec | Mille Lacs | Pine | St. Louis |

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, AITKIN – LAND AND PROPERTY

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Aitkin County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnaitkin.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Aitkin County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Minnesota Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Aitkin County, Minnesota page 362, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 8,385 times.