Akershus County, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Akershus County, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History and Tidbits
Akershus became a fief in the 16th century, and then also included the current counties of Hedmark, Oppland, Buskerud and Oslo, as well as the municipalities of Askim, Eidsberg and Trøgstad in the county of Østfold. In 1662 Akershus became an Amt (County), and in 1685 Buskerud was separated from Akershus and became an Amt (County) of its own. In 1768 Hedmark and Oppland were also separated from Akershus to become Oplandenes Amt (County) (and Askim, Eidsberg and Trøgstad were transferred to Østfold). In 1842 the city of Christiania (Oslo) was made a separate Amt (County) as well. In 1919 the name Amt was changed to Fylke. In 1948 was Aker, the greatest and the most populous municipality of Akershus, transferred to the county of Oslo.
Government Offices and Sites
Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Akershus County
Family History Resources
1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.
- This page was last modified on 13 April 2015, at 17:04.
- This page has been accessed 15,698 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More