Alabama, United States - Death - 1817-1849Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

'1.'The Basics on How to Search for Ancestors in the United States
While there is no set way to do research in the United States, this guide gives basic research steps and an explanation of the records.

The following list of suggested records is given in an order likely to help many people.

What you are looking for
An understanding of the research process and how to use the suggested list of records to search.

2.'United States Previous Research, Part 1'
Previous research is the work other people have done. By searching what others have already done, you may save hours. However, previous research is only as good as the skills of the person doing the research. Therefore, you should double check the information in previous research.

What you are looking for
Information about your ancestors compiled by other people.

Why go to the next record
Any of the following records may:

  • Have the information you are looking for.
  • Add information to what you have found.
  • Clear up differences found in previous searches.

If you find new information, you may want to again look at the records you searched before.

'3.'Census Population Schedule: Census
Census population schedules are useful in finding the town and county where an ancestor lived. They list people who lived in each house in every town and county when the federal census was taken (every 10 years, starting in 1790). Censuses from 1850 to 1920 give at least the name, age, and state (or country) of birth for every person in the house. Earlier censuses (1790 to 1840) give the name of the head of household, plus age categories for all the males and females in that house. Censuses show neighbors, who often are relatives.

Population schedules give a "snapshot" of your ancestor's family on the census day and show where the family was living. Comparing censuses shows when someone is no longer listed with the family, which may indicate a death between census years.

Federal census records are available for states and for the country.

What you are looking for
Your ancestor's name on a population schedule.

Why go to the next record
A collection often gathers information from many sources. Some of these sources may no longer be available or would be difficult to find.

'4.'Genealogical Collections: Genealogy
Genealogical collections usually give information about families and may include several generations. They usually give the names, and birth, marriage, and death dates and places for the husband and wife, the children, and possibly siblings and parents.

There are genealogical collections for towns, counties, states, and the country.

What you are looking for

  • A collection about your ancestor's family.
  • A collection with records from the place where your ancestor lived.

Why go to the next record
Wills, administrations, and inventories indicate when and where a person died.

'5.'Wills, Administrations, and Inventories: Probate records
Wills, administrations, and inventories (probate records) show a court's decisions regarding the distribution of the estate of a deceased person to his heirs or creditors. They may give the person's death date, names of family members, family relationships, and residences. They may also give information about the adoption or guardianship of minor children and dependents.

There are probate records for towns, counties, states, and the country.

What you are looking for

  • Your ancestor's will, the list (inventory) of what he or she owned at death, or records of what was done to settle the estate.
  • Similar records of people who are or might be your ancestor's parents or relatives who might have included him or her in their wills.

Why go to the next record
A magazine may have an article about your family or copies of the records you need, such as church and cemetery records.

'6.'Genealogical and Historical Magazines: Periodicals
Genealogical and historical magazines often publish such information as: family histories, obituaries, newspaper notices, church, cemetery, land, probate, tax, military, and naturalization records. Historical magazines may contain biographies and histories of towns, ethnic groups, organizations, industries, historical events, political campaigns, military activities, etc.

There are genealogical and historical magazines for cities, counties, regions, states, and the country.

What you are looking for

  • An article about your ancestor.
  • An article about your ancestor's relatives.
  • An article about the town or county where your ancestor lived.
  • An article with records for the town or county where your ancestor lived.

'7.'Tombstone and Sexton Records: Cemeteries
Tombstone and sexton records contain information from tombstones or from records kept by the sexton of the cemetery. They usually give the ancestor's name, birth date, and death date. They may include the birthplace and date, name of spouse, names of children, and names of other relatives.

There are tombstone and sexton records for towns, counties, states, and the country.

What you are looking for
Your ancestor's tombstone inscription or your ancestor's name in the sexton records.

Why go to the next record
Town and county histories often give short biographies of first settlers and people in the area when the histories were written. State histories often give biographies of prominent men.

'8.'History: History
Histories tell of the events in a community or larger area. Effective family research requires some understanding of the historical events that may have affected your family and the records dealing with them. Learning about governments, laws, wars, migrations, and religious trends may help you understand political boundaries, family movements, and settlement patterns. These events may have led to the creation of records in which your family was listed, such as land and military documents.

Histories often contain biographical sketches about individuals and their families. They may include birth, marriage, and death information.

There are histories for towns, counties, regions, and states.

What you are looking for
A history of the town, county, or state where your ancestor lived.

Why go to the next record
Biographies, diaries, etc., often have death information, such as death dates and places.

'9.'Biographies, Diaries, etc.: Biography
Biographies, diaries, etc., give information about persons who lived in a particular area. Regional, state, or national biographies generally include well-known persons, such as politicians, or other people who have attained status in their profession. They may mention the person's parents, spouse, children, and ancestors, with birth, marriage, and death dates and places. They may give information about the person's religion, occupation, military service, etc.

There may be biographies, diaries, and similar records from towns, counties, or states.

What you are looking for

  • A biography about your ancestor or his family.
  • A diary written by your ancestor or someone close to him or her who might have written about your ancestor.

Why go to the next record
If a man died while buying land from the government, his widow and children were often listed.

'10.'Land Transactions, Government to Person: Land and property
Records created when a person received land from the federal, state, or colonial government may include the name and residence of the person, a description of the land, and dates of each part of the process. They may give age, military service, or naturalization information. In a few cases, other family members are named.

First ownership of land was obtained from state or federal governments.

What you are looking for
Records of your ancestor buying land from the government, such as land grants and homestead or records of proprietors.

Why go to the next record
Newspapers often give announcements of deaths, which may include date and place of death plus information about family members.

'11.'Newspapers: Newspapers
Local newspapers report local, regional, national, and global news. They also include notices of births, marriages, deaths, obituaries, etc. To find newspapers, you need to know the place and an approximate date of an event. Check newspapers from a week or two before or after a wedding, funeral, or wedding anniversary to find mention of out-of-town visitors and relatives.

There are newspapers for towns and cities.

What you are looking for
A newspaper covering the area where your ancestor lived when he or she lived there.

Why go to the next record
Land records give an idea of when a person died and often list spouse and children.

'12.'Land Transactions, Person to Person: Land and property
Deeds contain the names and residences of the grantor and his wife (the sellers) and the grantee (buyer). Deeds may contain the names of children and their spouses, siblings, and sometimes the parents or in-laws. Deeds give a description of the land, the date the deed was actually written, and the date it was recorded. Witnesses and neighbors mentioned may be relatives or in-laws.

Deeds are kept by the clerk of the county where the deed was recorded.

What you are looking for
Records transferring land from your ancestor to someone else, especially about the time of your ancestor's death.

Why go to the next record
Burial records are alternatives to death records. People generally were buried within a few days of death and usually near the place they died.

'13.'Church Baptisms, Marriages, Burials, Minutes, etc.: Church records [javascript:openglossary ('356', 'GeneralSearch', 'none', 'none', 'none', 'Church Baptisms, Marriages, Burials, Minutes, etc.', 'N', 'Y'); Look this term up in the glossary.]
Church records usually include baptisms, marriages, burials, and minutes. Baptism records usually give the name of the child, parents' names, and date and place of baptism. Marriage records usually give the names of the bride and groom, witnesses, and the date and place of the marriage. Burial records usually give the name and age of the deceased person, with the date and place of burial or death. The name of the spouse may be listed, and for young children, the names of the parents may be given. Church minutes have a variety of information, including lists of members in various years.

Church records were kept in towns or counties by the minister or clerk of a congregation.

What you are looking for
A church record of your ancestor's burial.

Why go to the next record
Military pensions often give death information for the soldier and sometimes also for the spouse and children.

'14.'Military Pensions: Military records
Military records may contain birth information about a large portion of the male population. They may also have information about their deaths and marriages.

Pensions are offered for military service by state or federal governments. The applications and pension records often contain birth, marriage, death, and service information; residences; and names of spouses, children, and other close relatives. They began with the Revolutionary War and continue to the present.

There are military records for towns, counties, states, and the country. There are military pension records for states and the country.

What you are looking for
A record of the pension your ancestor received for military service.

Why go to the next record

This is not a complete list of all records you could search. If you did not find what you need, check the FamilySearch Catalog - Place Search or archives and libraries for the area where your ancestor lived for other records which may have information about your ancestors.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:04.
  • This page has been accessed 812 times.