Alachua County, FloridaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Alachua County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Alachua County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||December 29, 1824|
Alachua County Courthouse;
201 E University Ave; PO Box 600;
Gainesville, FL 32601;
County Clerk has incomplete marriage records from 1837
probate records from 1840, land records from 1848 & court records
1824-- Alachua County was created in 1824 by an act of the Florida Legislature. It was carved from portions of Duval and St. Johns Counties. Until 1843 its southernmost border was approximately Tampa Bay. While Gainesville is the current County seat, originally a town called Newnansville, located in the northeastern part of the County, was the seat of the county government.
The Second Seminole War slowed the growth of Newnansville and the railroad line bypassed the county seat by running in a diagonal line across the county resulting in a decision to move the county seat nearer the rail lines. This decision was made at a meeting at Boulware Springs on September 6, 1853, resulting in the creation of a new town to be called Gainesville nearer the center of commerce in Alachua County.
County seat: Gainesville 
In 1843 the northernmost portion of Hernando County was created from the southern most part of Alachua County.
In 1924 Gilchrist County was created from the western most portion of Alachua County
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses
Alachua | Archer | Gainesville | Hawthorne | High Springs | LaCrosse | Micanopy | Newberry | Waldo Adams | Alachua II | Alackaway Tolofa | Arno | Arredondo | Arredondo Estates | Beckhamtown | Beville Heights | Bland | Buckingham West | Buda | Burnetts Lake | Cadillac | Campville | Chantilly Acres | Clark | Clinch | Copeland Settlement | Cross Creek | Daysville | Durant Estates | Earleton | Evinston | Fairbanks | Forest Grove | Green Grove | Grove Park | Hague | Haile Plantation | Hainesworth | Half Moon | Hasan | Idylwild | Island Grove | Jonesville | Kanapaha | Kincaid Hills | Kirkwood | Kreftwood Estates | Lake Alto Estates | Lakeview Estates | Lincoln Estates | Lochloosa | Los Trancos Woods | Louise | Malore Gardens | Melrose | Melton Manor | MIcanopy Junction | Monteocha | Newnans Lake Homesites | Newnansville | Northwood | Orange Heights | Paradise | Pine Hill Estates | Pinesville | Rex | Riceland | Robinson Heights | Robinswood | Rochelle | Rocky Point | Ruthland | Rutledge | San Francisco Potano | Santa Fe | Santa Fe Beach | Shadow Lawn Estates | Shannon Wood | Shenks | South Iyldwild | Spring Hill | Suburban Heights | Tacoma | Traxler | Wacahoota | Wade | West Hills | West Park | Wimberly Estates | Windsor
- FLGenWeb Project African-American Website
- Florida African American Griots Project - USGenWeb
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- Alachua County FLGenWeb Cemetery Transcriptions
- Alachua County Virtual Cemeteries - by Jim Powel, Jr.
- Florida Tombstone Transcription Project - USGenWeb
- Interment.net - Florida cemetery records by County
- Alachua County cemetery listings at Find-A-Grave
- Laurel Grove Cemetery, Waldo BillionGraves
For tips on accessing Alachua County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1850 & 1860 Census Indexes - Alachua County, FLGenWeb
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Federal Census Information from National Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service - USGenWeb Archives Project
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
- Alachua County Commissioners Minutes - online database includes minutes from 1847-1992
- Misc. Records from Alachua County Courts
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Alachua County Partial Deed Index - 1826-1916
- Alachua County Index to Deed Records - comprehensive listing of indexes available from the clerk
- Florida Territorial Land Records
Local histories are available for Alachua County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
- Maps of Florida (1821-1997)
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Civil War
- - Florida, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- - Florida, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- - Florida, Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955
- - Florida, Confederate Pension Applications Files
- - A Guide to Civil War Records at the State Archives of Florida
- Florida State Military Files - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Pension Transcriptions - Florida state pension records from various wars - USGenWeb Pension Project
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Alachua County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Florida Obituaries - Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties - USGenWeb Obituaries Project
Probate records are held by the Alachua County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Alachua County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
- Alachua County Mortgage Index - 1847-1869
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
- 1830-1906 - Alachua County Marriage Index 1830-1906. Batch M744364 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1837-1973 - Alachua County Marriage Licenses - search licenses from 1837- May 1973
- 1837-1868 - Alachua County Marriage Books 1 thru 3 Index 1837-1868. Batch M513031 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1837-1903 - Alachua County Marriage Books 1 thru 3 Index 1837-1903. Batch M735621 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1869-1877 - Alachua County Marriage Book A Index 1869-1877. Batch M513032 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1869-1878 - Alachua County Marriage Book A Index 1869-1878. Batch M735618 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1877-1885 - Alachua County Marriage Book B Index 1877-1885. Batch M513033 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1877-1888 - Alachua County Marriage Book B Index 1877-1888. Batch M734719 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1887-1895 - Alachua County Marriage Book C Index 1887-1895. Batch M734722 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1895-1904 - Alachua County Marriage Book D Index 1895-1904. Batch M735008 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1903-1910 - Alachua County Marriage Books E and F Index 1903-1910. Batch M734811 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1915-1921 - Alachua County Marriage Books G and H Index 1915-1921. Batch M734814 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1915-1921 - Alachua County Marriage Books I and J Index 1915-1921. Batch M734711 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1919-1920 - Alachua County Marriage Book I Index 1919-1920. Batch M734847 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1921-1927 - Alachua County Marriage Books K and L Index 1921-1927. Batch M735012 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1927-1930 - Alachua County Marriage Book M Index 1927-1930. Batch M735619 at FamilySearch - free.
Societies and Libraries
- List of Florida Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- Florida State Historical Societies - Listing by County
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- Alachua County, FL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Alachua Clerk of the County Court
- The Alachua County FLGenWeb Project, a member of The FLGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- Alachua County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Alachua County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alachua County, Florida. Page 133 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 3.12 3.13 3.14 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/54/Igiflorida.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 31 January 2015, at 00:51.
- This page has been accessed 15,152 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More