Alamosa County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Colorado Gotoarrow.png Alamosa

Guide to Alamosa County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Alamosa County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Alamosa County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 9, 1852
County Seat Alamosa
Courthouse
Address Alamosa County Courthouse
402 Edison Ave; PO Box 178
Alamosa, CO 81101-2560
Phone 719.589.6681
Alamosa County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1913.
District Court has divorce, probate and court records.[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
*
1913 [2]*
1913 # [2]*
1913 [2]
1913 [2]
1913 [2]

For birth records see Colorado Vital Records.
For death records contact Lorton and Miracle Mortuaries in Alamosa.[2]

*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Alamosa[1]

Parent County

Before 1861: this modern Colorado county was in New Mexico.

9 January 1852: it was created part of Taos County in New Mexico Territory.[3] [4]

28 February 1861: it was transferred to Colorado[5] [6] (1 Nov 1861 Costilla County).[7] Look for pre-1861 records in New Mexico. For further explanation see Taos County.

8 March 1913: Alamosa County was created from Costilla and Conejos Counties.

Neighboring Counties

Coadams.jpg

Record Loss

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Alamosa County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Alamosa

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for Alamosa County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Online Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Alamosa County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Alamosa County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints Family History Center Alamosa Colorado
300 Richardson Ave
Alamosa, Alamosa, Colorado, United States
Telephone: 719-589-5511

This is not a mailing address. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.
Contact Center for open hours as they vary.

Libraries

Alamosa/Southern Peaks Public Library
423 4th St
Alamosa, CO 81101
Phone: (719) 589-6592
 www.alamosalibrary.org/

Museums
Societies

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [9]

Marriage

Early Alamosa County marriages extracted from marriage certificate record book 7 1914-1922.

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [9]

Divorce

Places

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 97, Alamosa County, Colorado. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
  3. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987), 52. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  4. Brief County Histories (New Mexico) in RootsWeb (accessed 21 June 2012).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopeida at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colorado_Territory (accessed 19 June 2012).
  6. Adrian B. Ettlinger, AniMap 3.0 : with SiteFinder U.S. place name database (Alamo, Calif.: Gold Bug, 2008), Colorado 1861 map. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL CD-ROM no. 4903.
  7. Handybook, 98, Costilla County, Colorado.
  8. Colorado Online Historical Newspapers, https://sites.google.com/site/onlinenewspapersite/Home/usa/co, accessed 19 July 2013.
  9. 9.0 9.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2014, at 19:30.
  • This page has been accessed 9,863 times.