Albany County, WyomingEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
- This article is about a southeastern Wyoming county. For other uses, see Albany.
United States
Wyoming
Albany County
Guide to Albany County Wyoming genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Albany County, Wyoming | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Wyoming in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 16, 1868 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Laramie |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Albany County Courthouse County Courthouse Rm 202 Laramie, WY 82070 Phone: 307.721.2541 Albany County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: original county created 16 December 1868
- County Seat: Laramie [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Carbon | Converse | Jackson | Laramie | Larimer | Natrona | Platte
Albany County was created 16 December 1868 from Laramie County of Dakota Territory. It became one of the five original counties of Wyoming Territory which included Laramie and Carter counties, created in 1867, Carbon and Albany counties created in 1868, and Uinta County.
The History of Wyoming, published 1918, and edited by I.S. Bartlette, includes a chapter on the counties of Wyoming. Albany County is first and includes photos of the original courthouse, post office and other early buildings in Albany County.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Established in 1881, Greenhill Cemetery listings include names, date of death, age, row, block, lot and space. The Green Hill Cemetery brochure includes a map of the cemetery and contact information.
Census
For tips on accessing Albany County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Laramie
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
- University of Wyoming Yearbooks - misc. volumes digitzed and online at Internet Archive
Repositories
Courthouse
The present Albany County courthouse was designed by Wilbur Hitchcock and constructed 1931 - 1932. (photo)
County Clerk has marriage records from 1869, burial records from 1885, land records from 1868 and military records from 1919; Clerk District Court has divorce, probate, court and naturalization records[2]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
- American Heritage Center
University of Wyoming
1000 East University Ave Dept. 3924
Laramie WY 82061
(307)766-4114
The American Heritage Center includes a manuscript collection of Wyoming, the American West, mining and more. They have a digital collection of photos and documents and video and audio recordings.
- American Heritage Center
Museums
Societies
- Albany County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 6163
Laramie WY 82073
- Albany County Genealogical Society
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- Western States Marriage Index over 1,064 marriages 8 Jun 1869 to 6 Jan 1900
Death
Websites
- The Albany County WY GenWeb Project, a member of The WYGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- Lookups (GenWeb)
- Wikipedia
- Family History Library Catalog
- Albany County Genealogy (Wyoming Genealogy)
Places
| Albany | Cooper Lake | Howell | Red Buttes | West Laramie |
| Binford | Dale Creek | Jelm | Rock Creek (hist.) | Wilcox |
| Bosler | Deerwood | Keystone | Rock River | Woods Landing |
| Buford | Foxpark | Laramie | Sherman | Wyocolo |
| Centennial | Hatton | Lookout | The Buttes | Wyoming |
| Collins (hist.) | Hermosa | Mountain Home | Tie Siding |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 766. Albany County, Wyoming
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2013, at 18:57.
- This page has been accessed 2,224 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

