Alberbury, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  ShropshireGotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Alberbury, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Part of this parish is in Montgomeryshire, Wales. See also Alberbury, Montgomeryshire.

Alberbury, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cawrse; Deythur; Ford
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Atcham PLU
Registration District Atcham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontesbury
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALBERBURY, or Abberbury (St. Michael), a  parish, in the union of Atcham, partly in the hundreds of Cawrse and Deythur, county of Montgomery, North Wales, but chiefly in the hundred of Ford, S. division of Shropshire. The English portion includes the township of Alberbury and the chapelry of Wollaston.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Alberbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[3][4][5][6]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[7][8]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[9]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
ALBERBURY PARISH (1564) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1626-1772
1660-1772 (gaps)

BOYD
1692-1812

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1564-1733
1564-1733
1564-1733
IARC 1733-1812
1733-1812
1733-1812
JOIN
1564-1812

MLOC 1564-1812
1564-1812
1564-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474585.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Alberbury/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-26. Date accessed: 30 April 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 31 January 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  7. W.P.W. Phillimore, Shropshire Parish Registers, Diocese of Hereford, Vol. VI, Alberbury Register, Part I. 1564 to 1733 (n.p.: Shropshire Parish Register Society, 1902).
  8. W.P.W. Phillimore, Shropshire Parish Registers, Diocese of Hereford, Vol. VII, Alberbury Register, Part II. 1733 to 1812 (n.p.: Shropshire Parish Register Society, 1902).
  9. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,924 times.