Alberta GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Canada Gotoarrow.png Alberta Gotoarrow.png Genealogy

An index to some families of Alberta, from published biographies, census records (1881–1891), directories to 1913, genealogies, local histories, and vital records in newspapers is:

  • Elliot, Noel Montgomery, ed. The Western Canadians, 1600–1900: An Alphabetized Directory of the People, Places, and Vital Dates. 3 vols. Toronto: Genealogical Research Library, 1994. (Family History Library book 971 D22w.) Indexes about 300,000 names from various sources for the provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Northwest Territories, Saskatchewan, and Yukon (also includes Alaska). Sources are listed at the end of each volume.
  • Naish, Robert. From Lymington to Alberta - The Hayward Family. A wedding picture of Oliver Hayward and Bessie Ezitt Green of Lymington, Hampshire 1907, also picture of the Hayward Family taken in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada, 1918, with history. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XX11, no. 1, May 1995, cover page and pages2-3. FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Writing and Sharing Your Family History

Sharing your own family history is valuable for several reasons:

  • It helps you see gaps in your own research and raises opportunities to find new information.
  • It helps other researchers progress in researching ancestors you share in common.
  • It draws other researchers to you who already have information about your family that you do not yet possess.
  • It draws together researchers with common interests, sparking collaboration opportunities. For instance, researchers in various localities might choose to do lookups for each other in remote repositories. Your readers may also share photos of your ancestors that you have never seen before.
See also:
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 September 2014, at 15:57.
  • This page has been accessed 1,343 times.