Albourne, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes 

Albourne, Sussex
St Bartholomew Albourne West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tipnook
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Cuckfield PLU
Registration District Cuckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1550
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALBOURNE, a parish in Cuckfield district, Sussex; 3½ miles W of Hassock's Gate railway station, and 6½ SW of Cuckfield. The church is an ancient structure; the nave is separated from the chancel by a fine Norman arch, and there is a north transept.[1] See also.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
01243 642122

Church records

Albourne, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
Albourne, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1900


IGI 1550-1900 1605-1784, 1813-1876
PRTS 1550-1900
1605-1732, 1752-1763, 1813-1876
1605-1732, 1752-1886
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1550-1580, 1601-1900 Marr 1605-1707, 1813-1975 Bur 1605-1899 Bishop's Transcripts 1606-1893

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Albourne ==== Census records ====


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.

[1]

Poor Law Unions

Cuckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Date accessed: 16 September 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-26.. Date accessed and adapted: 13 December 2013
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  6. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 June 2014, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,207 times.