Albury, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes Guide to Albury, Hertfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Albury, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Edwinstree
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Bishop’s Stortford PLU
Registration District Bishop Stortford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bishop's Stortford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral; Post-1844 - Court of the Archdeaconry of St Albans
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Albury (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bishop-Stortford, hundred of Edwinstree, county of Hertford, 4 1/2 miles (N.W.) from Bishop-Stortford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Albury, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
Albury, Hertfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1558-1910 1558-1910 1558-1924 1558-1924 1558-1868 1558-1868
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1558-1875 1558-1837
JOIN
1559-1837

NBI

1800-1851


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288830.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1838. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 3 March 2014.
  3. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  5. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,319 times.