Alby, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Norfolk Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Alby, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alby, Norfolk
St Ethelbert, Alby, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Campden
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Alby is a parish, in the union of Aylsham, and the hundred of South Erpingham, Norfolk, it is 4¾ miles N E from Aylsham. It was originally called Oslby, and is intersected by the road from Aylsham to Cromer, it includes the hamlets of Alby Common and Alby Hill.[1] 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts
  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Alby, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Alby, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1812
1600-1812
1600-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

There are no images at FamilySearch Historical Records for this parish due to absence of microfilming for the parish. The parish register collection does not include the Archdeacon's transcripts which may be ordered on microfilm at a Family History Centre.

Original registers deposited at the Norfolk Record Office ALBY  parish reference (PD 543)
Original registers 1558-1983 1558-1983 1558-1981 1755-1812,
1822-1978
Microform 1558-1983 1558-1983 1558-1981 1755-1812,
1822
Archdeacon’s and Bishop’s transcripts
1600-1933 1600-1837 1600-1933.

Archdeacons transcripts some early entries in Latin

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials 1600-1610, 1623-1633, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1610, 1623-1633, 1665-1811 BRITISH 1526778 Item 15

See also

England Norfolk Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

1891 Census Surname Index courtesy of the Norfolk Transcription Archives

Land Records

1597 Subsidy Taxes courtesy of the Norfolk Transcription Archives

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-26. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50747
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 21 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/alby-st-ethelbert/ for information about the parish

http://www.cvma.ac.uk/jsp/location.do?locationKey=648&mode=LOCATION mediaeval stained glass

http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~maureenmitchell/church_photographs/norfolk_church_photographs.htm for photograph of church

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50747#s10 British History Online

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,173 times.