Alcester, WarwickshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Alcester, Warwickshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Alcester PLU|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1612|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Alcester (St. Nicholas), is a town, a parish, a sub district, and a district in Warwickshire. It is 15 miles WSW of Warwick is on the Birmingham and Malvern railway, 9 miles NNE of Evesham. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians. The town post office is under Redditch.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Alcester, Warwickshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Alcester, Warwickshire Parish Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464168.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-26. Accessed and adapted 12 October, 2013.
- ↑ 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
- ↑ 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
- This page was last modified on 16 July 2014, at 16:17.
- This page has been accessed 721 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki