Aldborough, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Aldborough, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aldborough, Norfolk
St Marys Aldborough.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Erpingham PLU
Registration District Erpingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Repps
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALDBOROUGH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Erpingham, hundred of North Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 6 miles (N.) from Aylsham. [1]


Aldborough St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in the Repps deanery of the Diocese of Norwich.

Wikipedia. Genuki.org.uk also provides addtional information on this parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Erpingham 1837-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974

The Register Office, 18 Kings Arms Street, North Walsham, NR28 9JX.
Tel/Fax: 01692 406220. E-mail: registration.nwalsham@norfolk.gov.uk

Church records

Aldborough, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[9]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[10]
ALDBOROUGH PARISH (1539) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1538-1715

FREG 1538-1909
1538-1906
1538-1901
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1928 Undefined 1538-1922 Undefined 1538-1901
IGI 1538-1715
JOIN
1819-1833

PRTS 1539-1717
1539-1715
1539-1717

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Aldborough

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 220

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438853.

See Norfolk Census

transcript of 1891 census

1891 Census Surnames Index courtesy of the Norfolk Transcription Archives

Poor Law Unions

Erpingham workhouse

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Erpingham Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Military Records

WW1 War Memorial courtesy of the Norfolk Transcription Archives

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-26.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 21 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  6. England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900, FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 7 October 2013.
  10. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 11 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,266 times.